News: Bidlake Prize for Dot Tilbury


The 2013 Bidlake Memorial Plaque has been awarded to the Isle of Man’s Dot Tilbury for bringing hundreds of youngsters into cycling including star professional Mark Cavendish.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

The prestigious award has been awarded annually since 1934 in memory of Frederick Thomas Bidlake, the father of time trial sport, by a committee apointed to adjudicate upon the Bidlake Memorial Plaque. The committee is made up of cycling officials, journalists and others with a strong cycling background.

Tilbury is a dominant force when it comes to cycling on the Isle of Man and her efforts have already been recognised having been awarded the MBE, inducted into the British Cycling Hall of Fame and in 2012 she received the Isle of Man Newspapers Lifetime Excellence Award from the hands of Team Sky professional Peter Kennaugh, one of the Isle of Man youngsters she encouraged to take up cycle sport.

Previous recipients of the Bidlake Memorial Plaque include Reg Harris,Beryl Burton, Tom Simpson, Hugh Porter, Chris Boardman, Graeme Obree, Nicole Cooke, Sir David Brailsford, Mark Cavendish and Sir Bradley Wiggins.

Tilbury’s award reads; “Awarded to Dot Tilbury 2013 for outstanding voluntary work over many years in bringing hundreds of young people into the sport of cycling.”



Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK