Report/Results: Springtime Pursuit 2


For the second Mid-Devon CC promoted Springtime Pursuits, riders were greeted by a dry day with sunshine in the morning and a fresh westerly wind making the leg between Beara Cross and Dunsland Corner testing.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

 Springtime Pursuit 2|

By the afternoon grey clouds had obliterated the Sun but the rain held off till well after the races were over.

E/1/2/3 – Riders from the 19 strong front group got the bit between their teeth as soon as the race started. The fittest and fastest soon despatched around half their number before the end of the first 11.5 mile lap where Ryan Vale, Somerset RC, took the prime. The second group seemed to be sleepwalking and had lost 1 minute on the front runners and on lap 2 they were joined by riders from groups 3 and 4 but were still 90 seconds behind with the scratch men a further minute adrift. The second prime went to Martyn Lewis,

The leaders kept up their hard work and there was an 8 man sprint contesting the honours with Noah Goodman, Bristol RC, having several lengths advantage over Lewis and Stephane Pang, Onit Sports.

When the main group came in Andrew Hitchens, Mid-Devon CC, showed there is still some power in his legs by holding of junior rider Joseph Wiltshire, NFTO Race Team.

Women – Despite having to make up 3 minutes in 22 miles the strongest women were soon past all those who started in front of them and Anniliese Heard, Starley PrimalPro Cycling took the prime. The 4 women sprint saw Heard hold off the other 3 riders by a couple of lengths.


1 Noah Goodman – Bristol RC
2 Martyn Lewis – Cyclelogic
3 Stephane Pang – Onitsports
4 Harry Luxton – RUTrainuingtoday
5 George Clews – Somerset RC
6 Jack Ibbotson – Exeter Wheelers
7 Aston Spence – Mid-Devon CC
8 Ryan Vale – Somerset RC
9 Andrew Hitchens – Mid-Devon CC
10 Joseph Wiltshire – NFTO Race Team

Category 4
1 Julian Pittocco – Private Member
2 Daniel Wellings – Somerset RC
3 Lee Adams – Tavistock Wheelers
4 Connor Cranfield – Cycle Sport South Hams
5 Alex McGrath – Exeter Wheelers
6 James Davey – Mid-Devon CC
7 Philip Collings – Tavistock Wheelers
8 Peter Dawe – South Fork Racing
9 Mark Foale – Mid-Devon CC

1 Anniliese Heard – Starley Primal
2 Nataline Grinczer – Fusion
3 Lowri Devey – Fusion
4 Stephanie Post – Cardiff Ajax
5 Josephine Gilbert – One & All Cycling
6 Ellie Cambell – Abergavenny RC
7 Nicola Noble – Private Member
8 Miriam Whitehurst – VC St Raphael
9 Claire Elworthy – Exeter Wheelers
10 Bethany Taylor – Fusion



Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,