Startlist: Severn Bridge RR


Despite the death of Junior Heffernan in the 2013 Edition of the race, the Severn Bridge Road Race returns in 2014 with a line up including pros and amateurs alike

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Severn Bridge RR

The Severn Bridge Road Race dates from the 1960’s when it was organised by the late Jack Turner (an eccentric cycling genius). Crossing the first Severn Bridge, it did a large circuit of Monmouthshire (South Wales), finishing in Henbury (England).


Marcin Bialoblocki back in orange and returning to the Severn Bridge RR which he has won twice.

Nobody objected that 90% of the race was held abroad, thus contravening the BCF rule that required the race to stay in its own division. Then it switched to a circuit through the “beautiful rolling countryside” of Avonmouth docks with the oil refineries and choking fumes of the sulphur works, where if a rider fell into one of the roadside ditches he immediately dissolved (joking!)

The Olveston circuit used up until last year has been the base for the race for around 20 years however this year the organisers have switched to a temporary circuit in Wiltshire.

Race HQ – Charlton Village Hall, The Street, Charlton, Malmesbury, Wilshire SN16 9DL

The race sees a mixture of full time professionals in some of the country’s top teams and a lot of the area’s top ‘amateur’ racers. Rapha Condor JLT have entered the likes of Chris Opie, Elliott Porter, Will Stephenson and Ed Laverack while Team Raleigh will show their new team colours off with four riders including the country’s top domestic based pro in 2013, Yanto Barker.

Liam Stones, George Atkins and Joe Perrett are the other three in Raleigh colours although be aware that pro teams enjoy keeping everyone guessing and that line up may change! Velosure – Giordana has also entered the race with riders of the calibre of Steve Lampier, already a winner in 2014 and a double winner of the Severn Bridge RR, Marcin Bialoblocki.

George Harper and Richard Hepworth are also entered for men in organge. An interesting entry is reserve Dan Fleeman, a former professional with Cervelo Test Team and Raleigh.

The Course Details
West along B.4040 for 1.6 miles to Whychurch Roundabout at junction with A.429 (M). CAUTION. Take first exit LEFT (M) onto A.429 Malmesbury By Pass dual carriageway. Race to keep to inner (lefthand) lane only. Follow By Pass for 1 mile to next roundabout (M), keeping to left hand lane only (any riders crossing into outer lane will be liable to immediate disqualification).

Take first exit LEFT (M) into B.4042 towards Brinkworth and Wootton Bassett. Follow B.4042 for 8.3 miles through Brinkworth village (CAUTION), KOM is approx 0.5 miles beyond Brinksworth. Then on to Ballard’s Ash junction approximately 1 mile before reaching Wootton Bassett.

Turn LEFT (M) onto B.4696 for 2 miles to Purton Crossroads. Turn LEFT (M) onto unclassified road, and in 2/3rds mile follow road around sharp righthand bend to continue for a further 2 miles up The Common (unclassified) to junction with B.4040 at Minety. Turn LEFT (M) onto B.4040 and continue for 4.4 miles to complete lap at Start/Finish line outside race HQ in Charlton village.

Lap Distance: 20.0 miles / 32.1 kms, estimated lap time approx 45-50 mins. Full Race Distance: 3 laps, 60 miles / 96 kms, estimated duration approx 2hrs 15mins to 2hrs 30mins.



Jozef Metelka 1 Beeline Bicycles RT
Owen James 2 BH-Solidor-WAM Youth
Tristan Robbins 1 J L BH-Solidor-WAM Youth
Colin Parry E L BH-Solidor-WAM Youth
Tom Stockdale E BH-Solidor-WAM Youth
Alastair Hepworth 1 Team BikeBox
Ashley Proctor 1 Team BikeBox
Connor Swift 1 Team BikeBox
Daniel Storey 2 Team BikeBox
Andrew Feather 1 Bikeshed – UEX
Nick Noble 1 L Bristol RC
Geoff Ripley 2 L Bristol RC
Noah Godman 3 L Bristol RC
Adrian Lawson 2 Cadence RT
James Cartridge 2 Cadence RT
Zachery May 2 Cardiff JIF
Stephen Cavey 2 Catford CC Equipe/Banks
Douglas Coleman 1 CC Luton
Ashley Cox E CC Luton
Daniel McKimm 2 L Dream Cycling Race Team
Steve Thomas 2 L Dream Cycling Race Team
James Phillips 1 L Dream Cycling Race Team
Mark Perry 2 L Dream Cycling Race Team
Matthew Higgins 1 Felt-Colbornes-Hargroves RT
Colton Jarisch 2 Felt-Colbornes-Hargroves RT
Justin Hoy E Felt-Colbornes-Hargroves RT
Robert Ward 2 Felt-Colbornes-Hargroves RT
Nick Bonner 2 I-Team Cyclists’ Club
Jacob Tipper E KTM
William Bjergfelt E L Metaltek – Knights of Old Racing Team
Ben Stockdale E Metaltek – Knights of Old Racing Team
Dexter Gardias 1 Metaltek – Knights of Old Racing Team
Robert Orr 1 Metaltek – Knights of Old Racing Team
James Ellmore 3 J Mid Shropshire Whls
Matthew Mildon 2 J Mud, Sweat n Gears CC
Luc Hesdon 2 One and All Cycling
Duncan Heywood 2 J One and All Cycling
Cameron Campbell 2 Pendragon
Rory Gilling 2 Performance Cycles
Richard Phillips Schofield 2 Peter Hansford Racing
Harrison Fielding 2 J Peter Hansford Racing
Brook Elgie 2 Peter Hansford Racing
Simon Barnes 2 Procycling Magazine RT
Will Stephenson 1 Rapha Condor JLT
Chris Opie E Rapha Condor JLT
Edward Laverack 1 Rapha Condor JLT
Elliott Porter 1 Rapha Condor JLT
Charles Rees 2 L Ride 24/7
Grant Bayton 2 Ride 24/7
Billy Osmond 2 L Ride 24/7
Michael Ward 2 Ride 24/7
Daniel Stephens 2 Rock N Road Cycles
Matthew Butt 2 Speg – Project 51
Dan Gardner 1 J Speg – Project 51
Oliver Moors 2 J Speg – Project 51
Joe Fox 2 Starley Primal Pro Cycling
Sam Shannon 2 Starley Primal Pro Cycling
Perry Bowater 2 Starley Primal Pro Cycling
George Pym E Starley Primal Pro Cycling
John Russell 2 L Strada Cycles
Tom Neale 1 Team Corley Cycles
Michael Smith E Team Corley Cycles
Matthew Franklin 2 L Team Diabetes UK
Liam Stones E Team Raleigh
Yanto Barker E Team Raleigh
Joseph Perrett E Team Raleigh
George Atkins E Team Raleigh
Alun Owen 3 The Dragons-CC Abergavenny
Courtney Rowe 2 The Dragons-Cardiff JIF
Delbert Delaronde 3 The Dragons-Cardiff JIF
Richard Harris 2 The Dragons-Cwmcarn Paragon
George Moore 1 UCL Hennebont
Thomas Bowering 2 VC Meudon
Anthony Moye 1 Velo29 Events
Richard Hepworth E Velosure – Giordana RT
Marcin Bialoblocki E Velosure – Giordana RT
George Harper E Velosure – Giordana RT
Steve Lampier E Velosure – Giordana RT
David Arthur 2 Private Member
James Lewis 1 NFTO Pro Cycling

Daniel Fleeman E Metaltek – Knights of Old Racing Team


1982 Martin Eadon
1983 Dave Smith
1984 Ben Luckwell
1985 Ben Luckwell
1986 Mike Parker
1987 Andrew Shaw
1988 C White
1989 N Salmon
1990 Toby Pinn
1991 Chris King
1992 Jeremy Hunt
1993 Richard Wooles
1994 Richard Prebble
1995 Lee Davis
1996 Simon Bray
1997 Rob Lyne
1998 Simon Bray
199 Matthew Beckett
2000 Ian Jeremiah
2001 Cancelled
2002 Rob Hurd
2003 Matt Bottrill
2004 Julian Winn
2005 Benoit Lagorce (FRA)
2006 Grant Bayton
2007 Gordon Macauley (NZ)
2008 Matt Rowe
2009 Marcin Bialoblocki (POL)
2010 Phill Sykes
2011 Zak Dempster (AUS)
2012 Marcin Bialoblocki (POL)
2013 Abandoned


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,