Preview: 32nd Jock Wadley Memorial


The 32nd Jock Wadley Memorial Cycle Road Race takes place on Sunday 9th March starting from Alderman Blaxall School at 10am

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

32nd Jock Wadley Memorial – Event Press Release

This Colchester Rovers Cycling Club promotion promises to be a real battle on the usual Reservoir course south of Colchester.


Both Hugh Wilson, winner (right) in 2013 and Ian Wilkinson (left) are on the entry list.

Riders face 12 laps of the circuit totalling 82 miles before finishing outside Layer Waterworks about 1.40pm. Last year the weather was absolutely dreadful with freezing rain which ruled out two thirds of the competitors who failed to finish. We are hopeful of a much nicer day in accord with the chilly but sunny conditions normally encountered on the second Sunday in March.

There will be a full field of 80 riders including all the top UK based professional outfits. Team NFTO (Not For The Ordinary !) return with last year’s winner Hugh Wilson from Wales. He rides again with a team of 6. The reinstated Team Raleigh will be led by Wadley regular Yanto Barker with strong support from ironman Ian Wilkinson who came second last year and 2012 winner George Atkins.

Cycling enthusiasts will notice that the new team jerseys are very similar to those worn by the continental Raleigh professional team of the 1970’s and 80’s. The Dutchman Joop Zoetemelk won the Tour de France in 1980 riding a Raleigh bicycle.


Ian Wilkinson got the Raleigh team off to a winning start in Britain. Graham Briggs who was second also rides the Jock Wadley… going to be tasty this race!

The consistently strong Rapha Condor team are riding once again including Graham Briggs from Doncaster the current national circuit race champion and winner of the Colchester town centre race in 2012. One of his team mates is Kristian House a previous national road race champion and Tour of Britain King of the Mountains winner.

The big threat this year must come from the Velosure Giordana team which is led by 2011 Wadley winner Marcin Bialoblocki from Bridgewater. Reports suggest he does 29 hours of training each week despite the many waterlogged roads near to his home.

The riders will have the added protection of British Cycling’s National Escort Group of motorcyclists in addition to the usual lead cars provided for their safety.

Malcolm Hargreaves, Race Organiser, Colchester Rovers CC.

RIDERS (thanks Tony)

1 Mike Wragg Arbis Colbert Cycles RT
2 Russell Hampton Athlonsport
3 Jozef Metelka Beeline Bicycles RT
4 Owen James BH-Solidor-WAM Youth
5 Nick Noble BH-Solidor-WAM Youth
6 Colin Parry BH-Solidor-WAM Youth
7 Tom Stockdale BH-Solidor-WAM Youth
8 Rob Yeatman BH-Solidor-WAM Youth
9 Michael Auger Bottlesport Decca
10 Greg Mansell Casp Racing
11 Chris Spence Casp Racing
12 Douglas Coleman CC Luton
13 Ashley Cox CC Luton
14 Sebastian Baylis Champion System/Club Roost
15 Matthew Higgins Felt-Colbornes-Hargroves RT
16 Alex Higham Felt-Colbornes-Hargroves RT
17 Colton Jarisch Felt-Colbornes-Hargroves RT
18 Robert Ward Felt-Colbornes-Hargroves RT
19 Gray Turnock Finsbury Park CC
20 Dexter Gardias Metaltek – Knights of Old RT
21 Ben Stockdale Metaltek – Knights of Old RT
22 James Jobber Neon-Velo Cycling Team
23 Dean Downing NFTO
24 Joshua Hunt NFTO
25 James Lewis NFTO
26 Jonathan Mould NFTO
27 Adam Blythe NFTO
28 Hugh Wilson NFTO
29 George Gori Nuun-Sigma Sport-London RT
30 James Holland-Leader Nuun-Sigma Sport-London RT
31 Symon Lewis Nuun-Sigma Sport-London RT
32 Francis Cade Pedal Heaven Colbornes RT
33 David Creeggan Pedal Heaven Colbornes RT
34 Jake Martin Pedal Heaven Colbornes RT
35 Robert Moore Pedal Heaven Colbornes RT
36 Alex Paton Pedal Heaven Colbornes RT
37 Jamie Pine Pedal Heaven Colbornes RT
38 Jason White Private Member
39 Graham Briggs Rapha Condor JLT
40 Felix English Rapha Condor JLT
41 Kristian House Rapha Condor JLT
42 Edward Laverack Rapha Condor JLT
43 Thomas Moses Rapha Condor JLT
44 Chris Opie Rapha Condor JLT
45 Simon Alexander Richardsons-Trek RT
46 Lloyd Chapman Richardsons-Trek RT
47 Andrew Griffiths Richardsons-Trek RT
48 Andrew Hastings Richardsons-Trek RT
49 Owen Lake Richardsons-Trek RT
50 Andy Lyons Richardsons-Trek RT
51 Tom Arnstein Sandy Wallace Cycles

52 Mark Baines Spirit Bikes Racing Team
53 Edward Clemens Spirit Bikes Racing Team
54 Christopher Dredge Spirit Bikes Racing Team
55 Andrew Marriott Spirit Bikes Racing Team
56 Jack Waller Spirit Bikes Racing Team
57 Perry Bowater Starley Primal Pro Cycling
58 Jamie Caldwell Starley Primal Pro Cycling
59 Harry Godding Starley Primal Pro Cycling
60 William Goulbourne Team Corley Cycles
61 Ian Knight Team Corley Cycles
62 Tom Neale Team Corley Cycles
63 Jonathan Shuster Team Corley Cycles
64 Michael Smith Team Corley Cycles
65 Julian Pearson Team Hoppers Rollers
66 George Atkins Team Raleigh
67 Yanto Barker Team Raleigh
68 Alex Blain Team Raleigh
69 Joseph Perrett Team Raleigh
70 Liam Stones Team Raleigh
71 Mark Christian Team Raleigh
72 George Moore UCL Hennebont
73 Marcin Bialoblocki Velosure – Giordana RT
74 Thomas Bustard Velosure – Giordana RT
75 Nathan Edmondson Velosure – Giordana RT
76 George Harper Velosure – Giordana RT
77 Steve Lampier Velosure – Giordana RT
78 Robert Partridge Velosure – Giordana RT
79 Adam Duggleby Wheelbase Altura MGD
80 Alistair Rutherford Wheelbase Altura MGD

81 Andrew Sanders Braintree Velo Cycle Racing Club
82 Joe Skipper Strada-Sport
83 Liam Gentry Strada-Sport
84 Silas Goldsworthy Sandy Wallace Cycles
85 Benjamin Peacock Paisley Velo Race Team
86 Oliver Davies Planet X
87 Matthew Butt Speg – Project 51
88 Cameron Fraser Nuun-Sigma Sport-London Race Team
89 Conall Yates In Gear/Quickvit/Train sharp


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK