Results & Report – Apres Whacky Races 4


Lewis Atkins, Harvey Morcombe & Stephen Clark at round 4 of the Apres Whacky Races #4 at Preston Park, Brighton, March 30

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Results – Apres Whacky Races 4

Another good day of racing here at the Après Wacky Races at Brighton Preston Park Velo, with a good turn out in all categories.

New team CSE Racing came with six riders to stretch their legs, with a good field of 26 in total. They always had someone up the road but the bunch was in no mood for a break with some grudges played out. Easy racing? Come and try….

Some well timed efforts towards the end saw a team muster or two with Catford CC, PMR Toachim House, Redhill, Kingston Wheelers, Pedal Heaven all having a go at some point.  Coming down to the last, Felt – Colborne RTs Justin Hoy went early with Pedal Heaven RTs Lewis Atkins going round and holding him off to take the honours and CSE rider Tony Gibb, third.
Another good scrap played out here with ‘hero of the day’ award going to Mo Ahmed who as a firefighter was up most of the night battling a blaze then had two good turns out the front, going for the solo effort only to be reeled in with two to go….Mo always comes to race his bike..

Other breaks included Brighton Mitres Rob Fuller and Jed Williamson, both having a couple of goes and Blazing Saddles Mario Manelfi, tanning his legs too up the road.

Fareham Wheelers Harvey Morcombe learnt his lesson and this week kept his powder dry taking the line from In-Gears Matthew Miles (who’s son Eric raced earlier) and Dulwich Paragons Sam Evans third.

They do like a bike race these Fareham lads, eh? Chris Ewing spent a painfully long solo effort again this week before being gobbled up by the pack, keep going – it will work and meanwhile you’ll just get stronger…proper effort.

Ipswich Bike Club rider made the trip worthwhile, joyfully taking the win from Addiscomes Jonathan Pontin and Dorking CCs Ewan Evans third.

Aggressive riding from LVYCC rider James Ambrose who won the day over second placed Dillon Thomas, with Cyclopark’s Josie Kelly taking the U14’s and Owen Giles of Portsmouth North End the U12’S.

Lucas Barclay Acrctic TACX won from Chard Wheelers Jack Webb with Taylor Evans third.

More Apres Whacky Races this Sunday – please note that due to the Brighton Marathon some of the roads will be closed until 10.15am. Here’s a link suggesting alternative routes.

1. Lewis Atkins Pedal Heaven
2. Justin Hoy Felt Colbornes RT
3. Tony Gibb CSE Racing
4. Ian Robins Brighton Mitre
5. Henry Latimer Catford CC Equipe
6. Rhys Clegg PMR Toachim House
7. Simon Alexander Richardsons Trek
8. Ben Marks Cycleworks
9. Paul Barnard South Downs Bikes
10. Mike Smith Cycleworks

1. Harvey Morcombe Fareham Wheelers
2. Matthew Miles InGear RT
3. Sam Evans Dulwich Paragon
4. Laurence Jones PPYCC
5. Tom Marchment
6. Nile Jones VC Meudon
7. James Willerton Dorking CC
8. John Shillingford
9. Alistair Luxford CSE Racing
10.Harry Hailwood Fareham Wheelers

1. Stephen Clark Ipswich BC
2. Jonathan Pontin Addiscombe CC
3. Ewan Evans
4. Linfeng Wang Portsmouth NE
5. Javier Arias Gonzalez Kingston Wheelers
6. Adam Lenthall VC Meudon
7. Gez Reeves Crawley Wheelers
8. Chris Ewing Fareham Wheelers
9. Massimo Conforti Dulwich Paragon
10. Graham Read JMG Velo


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,