Report & Results – Brook Cycles Track League


The 2014 Brooks Cycles Track League season got underway at the Lyme Valley Velodrome, Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffs on Thursday 1st May

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report & Results – Brook Cycles Track League
(thanks Chris)

With the weather forecast of heavy thundery showers it looked like the first night would be a wash out however the rain never materialised and full nights racing was held. It was cold off the track but hot on it as the good turnout enjoyed themselves as they got back in to the swing of track racing again.

The night started with the usual Freewheelers league with 24 riders taking part. With a number of last years riders now moving to the fixed wheel bikes for the main league the races were keenly contested with the top points scorers in each group as follows

Group 1 Aaron Mansell Lyme RC 10 points
Group 2 Joel Cooper Lyme RC 8 points
Group 3 Cameron O’Neil Lyme RC 10 points

In the main league Jacob Booth ( Weaver Valley CC) dominated the endurance events as he won all four of his races in taking the 8 lap scratch, devil, points and 5 mile scratch. There were other strong performances from Joe Swinnerton (Lyme RC) and George Edwards ( Lyme RC).

There were two C’ Class races with Richard Coates ( Leek CC) winning both the points race and the devil.

The Sprint League saw Debbie Capewell ( Brooks Cycles) make full use of her long mark in the 500m handicap League sponsored by Neil Potter to take a fine win from the fast finishing 2013 Sprint League winner Sean Mayer ( Swinnerton Cycles ). Sean later won the individual sprint final from World Masters Team Sprint Champion Phil Houlton ( Brooks Cycles) and Barney Swinnerton ( Swinnerton Cycles). The other sprint event was the Team Sprint where track coaches Steve Cronshaw ( Brooks Cycles ) and Dave Smith ( Stafford RC) took a great win.

In the youth races Alex Coates ( Lyme RC) won the 200m time trial and the 5 lap scratch. The other youth race was won by Bradley Hill ( Lyme RC).

Group 1
Race 1
1st Harry Horn Lyme RC
Aaron Mansell Lyme RC
3rd Bradley Heath Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Harry Brayford Lyme RC
2nd Ethan Dakin Lyme RC
3rd Natasha Sandbach Lyme RC

Race 3
1st Aaron Mansell
2nd Bradley Heath
3rd Brandon McMillan Lyme RC

Race 4
1st Aaron Mansell
2nd Bradley Heath
3rd Harry Horn

Group 2

Race 1
1st Joel Cooper Lyme RC
2nd Lucy Scott Lyme RC
Zac Edwards Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Amelia Perry Lyme RC
2nd Chloe Shepherd Lyme RC
3rd Zac Edwards

Race 3
1st Joel Cooper
2nd Chloe Sheppard
3rd Ruby Baldwin Lyme RC

Race 4
1st Zac Edwards
2nd Lucy Scott
3rd Joel Cooper

Group 3

Race 1
1st Alfie Hall Lyme RC
2nd Cameron O’Neil Lyme RC
3rd Nicholas Sandbach Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Emma O’Neil Lyme RC
2nd Cameron O’Neil
3rd Olly Davis Lyme RC

Race 3
1st Cameron O’Neil
2nd Emma O’Neil
3rd Holly Edwards Lyme RC

Race 4
1st Alfie Hall
2nd Cameron O’Neil
3rd Emma O’Neil


Youth 200m TT
1st Alex Coates Lyme RC
2nd James Duncalf Lyme RC
3rd George Hancock Lyme RC

Endurance 8 lap Scratch
1st Jacob Booth Weaver Valley CC
2nd Joe Swinnerton Lyme RC
3rd Phil Kirkpatrick Mercian CC

Neil Potter 500m Handicap League
1st Debbie Capewell Brooks Cycles
2nd Sean Mayer Swinnerton Cycles
3rd Barney Swinnerton Swinnerton Cycles

Youth Block handicap
1st Bradley Hill Lyme RC
2nd Louis Perry Lyme RC
3rd Reuban Blakeman Derby Mercury

C Class Points Race
1st Richard Coates Leek CC
2nd Matt Duncalf Lyme RC
3rd Joffie Houlton U/A

A Class Sprinters Team Sprint
1st Steve Cronshaw Brooks Cycles
Dave Smith Stafford RC
2nd Sophie Capewell Lichfield CCC
Barney Swinnerton
3rd Sean Mayer
Joe Swinnerton

Endurance Devil
1st Jacob Booth
2nd Joe Swinnerton
3rd George Edwards

Youth Team Sprint
1st Bradley hill
Louis Perry Lyme RC
Megan Williams Newcastle RC 2001
Alex Coates

C Class Devil
1st Richard Coates
2nd John Jackson Macclesfield Wheelers
3rd Phil Powell Newcastle RC 2001

Endurance points
1st Jacob Booth
2nd George Edwards
3rd Joe Swinnerton

A Class Sprint Final
1st Sean Mayer
2nd Phil Houlton Brooks Cycles
3rd Barney Swinnerton

Womens sprint Final
1st Sophie Capewell
2nd Debbie Capewell

Youth Scratch race
1st Alex Coates
2nd James Duncalf
3rd George Hancock

5 Mile Scratch
1st Jacob Booth
2nd Liam Zwetschnikow Lyme RC
3rd Joe Swinnerton

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,