Report – Pete Taylor Memorial Road Race


Alex Orrell-Turner wins the Pete Taylor Memorial Road Race promoted by the City Road Club

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report – Pete Taylor Memorial Road Race
(thanks Julie)

The Pete Taylor Memorial was back on the calendar and the riders certainly did the organisers City Road Club proud.

Set in the wonderful Yorkshire Wolds countryside, this tried and tested course has it’s way of sorting the best from the rest, it certainly did today. On the first lap, we saw an attack from Alex Orrell Turner of Wheelbase and Tristian Emptage of Chevin cycles.

These two were to work well together to gain a twenty five second advantage and by the end of lap two, the bunch decided they’d had their glory at the front and a small group of five riders clipped off, followed by three more.

These all came together to form a handy group of ten including a former race winner, Richard Moore (Squadra RT), Steven Guymer (Clay Cross RT), James Allen (Langsett cycles), Ian Turner (Cyclocostablanca), Matthew Wilson (Chevin Cycles), Rob Mitchell (Out of the saddle), Ashley Marshall (Aire Valley), and Steve Gibson (Peak RC).

This group established a lead of 1’40 seconds with Squadra RT strong remaining riders controlling the main peloton no one was able to get away. The course and local people threw everything onto the race today, from ponies and traps, red kites flying above, twitchers watching from the side of the road and the odd irate driver.
However nothing was going to deter from a fantastic race, with good riding on the Yorkshire roads.

The gap of the leaders went down to 50 seconds with a lap to go, but these riders were strong and it set up a good bunch sprint, which was won by the inform Alex Orrell Turner (Wheelbase) from local lad Steven Guymer and former winner Richard Moore.

It was certainly a good event to be involved with and good to see racing back on the local roads again. A credit to John Fenton and his loyal band of helpers.

1. Alex Orrell Turner Wheelbase
2. Steven Guymer Clay Cross Rt
3. Richard Moore Squadra RT
4. Ian Turner Cyclocostablanca
5. Tristan Emptage Chevin cycles
6. James Allen Langsett Cycles
7. Matthew Williams Chevin Cycles
8. Rob Mitchell Out of the saddle
9. Steve Gibson Peak RC
10. Ashley Marshall Aire Valley RC.


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,