This Sunday – Women’s Curlew Cup


Nicola Juniper, Sarah Storey & Katie Archibald some of the names for the The Curlew Cup on June 22nd

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

This Sunday – Women’s Curlew Cup

Womens National Series Road Race on the 22 June at Stamfordham in the North East

Best of British at Women’s Curlew Cup

Elite racing royalty Dame Sarah Storey and her Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International teammates, Charline Joiner, Gabriella Shaw, Lauren Creamer and Katie Archibald are all confirmed to race the 2014 Curlew Cup when the event returns next month as part of the Virgin Money Cyclone Festival of Cycling.

Storey won the inaugural Curlew Cup in 2012 before going on to dominate at London’s Paralympic Games, securing four gold medals and a world record for her performance in the C5 Women’s 3000m Individual Pursuit.


According to Team Storey Sport, Storey’s win in the event’s first year cemented her lead in the series, with the rest of the team touted to follow in the footsteps of the inspirational Dame.

On this year’s event, Storey, who is set to compete in support of UK charity Boot Out Breast Cancer, said: “Women’s cycling is riding high on the agenda this summer and I’m excited to be returning to the North East this summer to compete in the Curlew Cup.

“The routes take in some of the UK’s loveliest scenery and the locals are always incredibly friendly and supportive to all the professionals taking part – hopefully the crowds will be out in full force to spur me on to another victory in the race.”

One of the UK’s most respected cycling events, the Virgin Money Cyclone festival plays host to the Curlew Cup as part of the Women’s National Road Race Series on Sunday June 22. The elite women’s event takes place ahead of the UCI Beaumont Trophy and shares much of the same route as the international men’s event.

Now in its eighth year, the Virgin Money Cyclone attracts over 4,000 riders, from Elite level professionals and serious cycling enthusiasts to individuals and groups looking to undertake their first sportive or enjoy a leisure ride. Charity supporters will find the event a fitting platform to raise awareness and funds for the organisation of their choice.

1 Penny Rowson 1st Matrix Fitness – Vulpine
2 Jessie Waker 2nd Matrix Fitness – Vulpine
3 Helen Wyman 1st Matrix Fitness – Vulpine
4 Corrine Hall Elite Matrix Fitness – Vulpine
5 Louise Borthwick 1st Matrix Fitness – Vulpine
6 Jo Tindley Elite Matrix Fitness – Vulpine
7 Hannah Walker Elite Epic Cycles – Scott WRT
8 Molly Weaver 1st Epic Cycles – Scott WRT
9 Anna Christian 2nd Epic Cycles – Scott WRT
10 Ella Hopkins Elite Epic Cycles – Scott WRT
11 Alexie Shaw 1st Epic Cycles – Scott WRT
12 Laura Massey 1st Epic Cycles – Scott WRT
13 Mel Brand 2nd Epic Cycles – Scott WRT
14 Claire Martin 2nd Team 22
15 Jen Edwards 2nd Team 22
16 Eve Dixon 2nd Team 22
17 Sarah Rose 3rd Team 22
18 Dame Sarah Storey Elite Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International
19 Charline Joiner Elite Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International
20 Lauren Creamer 2nd Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International
21 Katie Archibald Elite Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International
22 Gabriella Shaw 1st Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International
23 Iona Sewell 1st GB
24 Joanne Blakeley 2nd GB
25 Nicola Soden 2nd GB
26 Lydia Boylan Elite Velosport Pasta Montegrappa
27 Lucy Coldwell 1st Velosport Pasta Montegrappa
28 Hayley Simmonds 2nd Velosport Pasta Montegrappa
29 Claire Thomas Elite Velosport Pasta Montegrappa
30 Julie Erskine 1st Velsoport Pasta Monegrappa
31 Laura Wasley 2nd Fusion RT/Gearclub
32 Natalie Grinczer 2nd Fusion RT/Gearclub
33 Mathilde Pauls 2nd Fusion RT/Gearclub
34 Amy Hill 1st Fusion RT/Gearclub
35 Gillian Taylor 2nd Fusion RT/Gearclub
36 Elizabeth Malins 1st Fusion RT/Gearclub
37 Annabel Sill 2nd Team Jadan
38 Frances White 3rd Team Jadan
39 Lauren Brown 2nd Team Jadan
40 Sam Thoy 2nd Team Jadan
41 Elanor Cadzow 2nd Bonito Squadra Corse
42 Lauryn Therin 2nd Bonito Squadra Corse
43 Emma Rata 3rd J Bonito Squadra Corse
44 Megan Barker 2nd J M and D Cycles/Fusion RT
45 Bethany Taylor 2nd J M and D Cycles/Fusion RT
46 Mona Petrie 2nd Deeside Thistle CC
47 Chloe Fraser 2nd Deeside Thistle CC
48 Lucy Harper 2nd J Bike Pure-LeMond-Aspire Velotech RT
49 Anna Marie Hughes 2nd J Bike Pure-LeMond-Aspire Velotech RT
50 Sophie Black 2nd J Bike Pure-Lemond-Aspire Velotech RT
51 Elizabeth Holden 2nd J RST Racing Team
52 Amy Gornall 2nd J RST Racing Team
53 Sinead Burke 2nd PH-MAS Cycling Team
54 Martha Gill 3rd J PH-MAS Cycling Team
55 Ruth Taylor 2nd Manchester Wheelers
56 Gabriella Nordin 2nd Pedal Power RT
57 Sarah Bell 2nd Shutt VR/Squadra Donne
58 Alice Cobb 2nd Shutt VR/Squadra Donne
59 Dani Christmas 2nd SPEG Project 51
60 Clover Murray 3rd J Braintree Velo
61 Natasha Morrison 3rd MG Decor
62 Louise Burnie 3rd Loughborough Students CC
63 Jane Barr 2nd Velocity 44 Stirling
64 Amira Mellor 3rd J Paul Milnes Cycles
65 Delia Beddis 2nd Les Filles RT
66 Rose Osborne 2nd HWCC
67 Rebecca Rimmington 2nd Merlin Cycles RT
68 Nicola Juniper 1st Echelon
69 Gemma Neill 2nd Private
70 Clemence Copie 1st Mulebar Girl Sigma Sport
71 Emma Grant 1st Tibco
72 Rebecca Nixon 2nd Dundee Thistle RC
73 Cassie McGoldrick 1st Wyndymila Reynolds
74 Chloe Weller 3rd Norwood Paragon
75 Sam Burman 3rd Team WNT

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,