Result – VC Norwich Womens RR

Harriet Owen wins the VC Norwich Womens Road Race on Sunday at Great Cressingham

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result – VC Norwich Womens RR
Report/Photo Fergus Muir

WOMEN’S RACE, 45 miles.

After lunch twenty-four women lined up for their race – a counting event for the Women’s Eastern Racing League – which was held in dry and improving conditions on an increasingly breezy afternoon. With most teams having only one representative there was no effective blocking when riders attacked and attacks were all neutralized, though National 50 mile TT Champion Haley Simmonds (Pasta-Montegrappa) sustained the longest solo effort and was constantly to be seen at the front of the bunch.

A flat-out effort from the bottom of the finish hill secured the win for Oxfordshire pro Harriett Owen, her third win in seven days. She took the flag under the approving eyes of former European cyclo-cross champion Helen Wyman, briefly in England for Tour de France publicity work and visiting family in Norfolk. Wyman’s husband Stefan runs the Matrix Fitness-Vulpine team of which Owen is a leading light.

Second place, a few yards back went to Ipswich landscape architect Tanya Griffiths (Starley Primal) ahead of Elanor Cadzow (Bonito) and Mhairi Mackenzie (London Phoenix). Prize presentations were again at the Fete, after which nothing remained but the clearing up and going home to sample the whisky marmalade, homemade in Great Cressingham.

NOTE: Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

1 Harriet Owen Matrix Fitness – Vulpine
2 Tanya Griffiths Starley Primal Pro Cycling
3 Elanor Cadzow Bonito Squadra Corse
4 Mhairi Mackenzie London Phoenix CC
5 Tamala McGee London Phoenix CC
6 Sandra Mackay GB
7 Elizabeth Malins Fusion RT Gearclub Bike Scienc…
8 Iona Sewell GB
9 Annabel Sill Team Jadan
10 Aimee Wright High Wycombe Cycling Club
11 Hayley Simmonds Velosport – Pasta Montegrappa
12 Louise Marsden VC Norwich
13 Evgenia Ilyinskaya Edinburgh RC
14 Jessica Stoddart
15 Rebecca Carter WyndyMilla
16 Nicola Soden GB
17 Alison Lilley Fenland Clarion CC
18 Katherine Kimber Essex Roads CC
19 Anneke Prins Welwyn Wheelers CC
20 Jennifer Smart VC Norwich

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,