Report – Cotswold Veldrijden Cyclo-Cross


Jamie Newall one of the winners at Newbury Showground for the Cotswold Veldrijden Cyclo-Cross on Saturday, July 12

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report – Cotswold Veldrijden Cyclo-Cross

NOTE: Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Report by Claire Smith | Pic by Graham Robins

There was some great racing today in the sunshine at Newbury Showground. The Under 12′s kicked off the racing with 17 youngsters taking to the start line, with the Cotswold Veldrijden trio of Tyler Smith, Ellis Jones and Lewis Evans braking free from the pack to lead from the front as they shared the work and with 2 laps to go Evans made his move and pulled away from Smith who couldn’t get back on his wheel. It was a great result for the organising team with the 3 boys taking all the steps on the podium and Niamh Murphy winning the under 10 girls.


First Under 10 boy was Ewan Townsend from Zappis and first under 12 girl was Niamh Hutchinson.
Then onto the Youth race who were racing for 30 mins over the complete course, 10 riders took to the start line and Erin Baker raced away from the gun leading from start to finish, behind him the positions changed after a few laps but remained pretty constant with his sister Alderney finishing first Girl.

Now that the course had been flattened out by the youths the rest of the field took to the start line, being a summer series all the categories started together, and it was Jamie Newall who took off like a bullet from a gun and managed to lap the whole field up to second and third places!

There were a few casualties during the hour with some punctures and some somersaults ended a few races prematurely! Newall keep a consistent and fast pace to take an easy win, behind him Veteran rider Craig Hay did battle with Youngster Tom Sewell, Tom put up a brave fight but the hour long race took its toll and Hay took second place and 1st Veteran. Tom secured 3rd place and finished 1st Junior. The first lady was Mandy Scott.

Results under 12’s
1st Lewis Evans Cotswold Veldrijden u12 17:43
2nd Tyler Smith Cotswold Veldrijden u12 18:09 0’26″
3rd Ellis Jones Cotswold Veldrijden u12 18:32 0’49″
4th Ewan Townsend Zappis u10 19:26 1’43″
5th Felix Clacy Chapel Tri u12 19:28 1’45″
6th Sam Dunnage Cotswold Veldrijden u10 18:21 -1 lap
7th Niamh Murphy Cotswold Veldrijden u10 18:35 -1 lap
8th Niamh Hutchinson Newbury RC u12 19:31 -1 lap
9th Ellis Lewis u12 18:18 -2 laps
10th Alfie Noel u10 19:55 -2 laps
11th Anna PATTERSON u10 19:41 -3 laps
12th Bobby DOUGLAS Finsbury u10 19:44 -3 laps
13th Aidan SCOTT SRC u10 19:09 -4 laps
14th Emily OTWAY u10 17:57 -5 laps
Results Youth
1st Erin Baker Southdown Velo U14M 35:17
2nd Jamie Ellis Cotswold Veldrijden U14M 38:37 3’20″
3rd Barney Clacy Chapel tri U14M 39:14 3’57″
4th Liam Sewell Cotswold Veldrijden U14M 40:07 4’50″
5th Boston Sorenson U14M 40:13
6th Alderney Baker Southdown Velo U14G 40:54 5’37″
7th Rhys Evans Cotswold Veldrijden U14M 41:49 6’32″
8th Katie Scott Cotswold Veldrijden U14G 44:08 8’51″
9th Natalie Moore Cotswold Veldrijden U14G 42:32 -1 lap
10th Ollie Walker Cotswold Veldrijden U14M 38:07 3 Laps

Results Vets Junior Women
1st Jamie Newall Pedal Heaven SEN 58.44
2nd Craig Hay Rock n Road VET 40-49 1:03:48 5.04
3rd Tom Sewell Cotswold Veldrijden U16 1:04:48 6.04
4th Robin Wilmot Cotswold Veldrijden VET 40-49 1:05:29 -1 lap
5th Hugh Knudsen Team Tor 2000 SEN 1:06:00 -1 lap
6th Gary Barlow Reading CC VET 40-49 1:06:04 -1 lap
7th Aaron Tayler Cotswold Veldrijden SEN 1:06:30 -1 lap
8th Mark Hebditch SEN 1:00:40
9th Mitch Purvis 1:02:30
10th Robin Akers Oxonian VET 50+ 1:04:07 -2 laps
11th Craige Goodson Cotswold Veldrijden VET 40-49 1:04:31 -2 laps
12th Richard Abbott DPCC VET 65+ 1:05:18 -2 laps
13th Rob Dentry Cotswold Veldrijden SEN 1:06:00 -2 laps
14th Lukasz Krogielica SEN 1:00:06
15th Dennis Murphy SEN 1:04:20
16thPeter Douglas Finsbury Park CC VET 50+ 1:06:17 -3 laps
17th Steve Mead DPCC VET 40-49 1:00:25 -4 laps
18th Dave Jowett Hargroves CC VET 50+ 1:01:50 -4 laps
19th Mandy Scott Cotswold Veldrijden FEMALE 1:05:35 -4 laps

DNF 24 Dan Smith Banjo Cycles SEN
DNF 26 Chris Clark Banjo Cycles VET 40-49
DNF James Pilgrim-Morris G.S. Henley VET 40-49
DNF Mark Letters Banjo Cycles SEN
DNF Jonathan Wickham SEN
DNF Philip Clacy Chapel Tri SEN
DNF Ben Lovegrove Chippenham Whls SEN

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,