Report – Wessex Cyclo-Cross League 4


Jamie Newall had just enough to hold of Adrian Lansley on the line to win the 4th round of the Wessex Cyclo Cross League

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report – Wessex Cyclo-Cross League 4

by Graham Robins | Sunday 28th September

NOTE: Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Jamie Newall (Pedal Heaven) had just enough to hold of Adrian Lansley (Pedal On) on the line to win the 4th round of the Wessex Cyclo Cross League on a very sunny afternoon at the Newbury Show Ground just north of the M4 motorway.


After the initial run out to sort out the riders it was Lansley, Newall and Matt Macdonald (Hargroves Cycles) who started to pull away and create a small gap of 15secs. Chasing these were Phil Pearce (Banjo Cycles), Jamie Norfolk (Pedal On) and visiting rider Tim O’Regan (DID Dunboyne CC). The leaders held line until Macdonald crashed and it sent him backwards as riders passed him.

With just the two leaders together Newall and Lansley soon built their lead to over 30secs from Dan Guest (Performance Cycles) and a chasing group of O’Regan, Norfolk, Pearce and Macdonald who had managed to pick a way through the slower riders.

This race order remained until the bell lap as the two leaders had a comfortable lead of 30secs over Guest in third followed by Pearce, Norfolk, Macdonald and O’Regan. As Newall and Lansley approached the finish straight together it was all down to the sprint which Newall won by a bike length from Lansley and Dan Guest took third 27secs further back. Jamie Norfolk won the sprint for fourth at 1min 22secs from Pearce who was right on his wheel.

Crispin Doyle (Hargroves Cycles) continued to dominate this season vet league by winning his fourth straight race with Dave McMullen (Cotswold Veldrijden) taking the vet 50+ honours. Sharon Dolman (Cotswold Veldrijden) won the women’s race and team mate Tom Sewell taking the junior race win.

Provisional Results
1st Jamie Newall Pedal Heaven 59mins 37secs
2nd Adrian Lansley Pedal On @st
3rd Dan Guest Performance Cycles @27secs
4th Jamie Norfolk Pedal On
5th Phil Pearce Banjo Cycles
6th Matt Macdonald Hargroves Cycles
7th Tim O‘Regan DID Dunboyne CC
8th Jeremy Hicks Rugby Velo
9th Daniel Bell Ellmore Factory Racing
10th Adam Brittain HWCC

Vet 40
1st Crispin Doyle Hargroves Cycles
2nd Mike Simpson GS Henley
3rd Graham Rogerson Army CU
Vet 50
1st Dave McMullen Cotswold Veldrijden
2nd Richard Collins Imperial RT
3rd Mitch Purvis PM
1st Sharon Dolman Cotswold Veldrijden
2nd Helen Pattinson Solent Pirates
3rd Rose Osbourne Team WNT

1st Tom Sewell Cotswold Veldrijden
2nd Dan Tuley Chapel Tri Star
3rd Sam Oliver Palmer Park Velo

Youth Boys 16
1st Harry Yates Hargroves
2nd Edward Gronbech Oxford City
3rd Calum Macleod AW Cycles
4th Elliott Lassiter Cotswold Veldrijden
5th Harry Rose PPV

Youth Girls16
1st Lorna Bowler Hillingdon SS
2nd Emma Pitt AW cycles
3rd Kara Perryman Solent Pirates

Youth Boys14
1st Angus Hawkins PPV
2nd Tom Couzens Bicester
3rd Boston Sorenson U/A

Youth Girls14
1st Maddie Wadsworth Beeline Bicycles
2nd Abbie Manley Jedi Cycle Sport
3rd Alderney Baker Southdown Velo

Boys U12
1st Lewis Evans Cotswold Veldrijden
2nd Alex Uphill Hillingdon SS
3rd Jamie Witcher Solent Pirates

Girls U12
1st Anna Wadsworth Beeline Bicycles
2nd Millie Couzens Bicester
3rd Niamh Hutchinson Newbury RC

Boys U10
1 Jed Smithson Hillingdon SS
2 Tom Wadsworth Beeline Bicycles
3 Mack Mellish Zappis

Girls U10
1 Niamh Murphy Cotswold Veldrijden
2 Elise Hawkins PPV
3 Ellen Phillips Team Fat Boy

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,