Report – Tour of the Milburys


James Boyman wins stage & overall in the Tour of the Milburys, Matt Rowe also a stage winner

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report – Tour of the Milburys

Graham Robins Report | Saturday 9th May

James Boyman (Farnham RC) took the win at the Team Axiom’s two stage road race by coming second in the individual time trial in the morning and winning the road race stage in the afternoon and collecting time bonuses on route.


The morning started under leaden skies around the village of Meonstoke nestled in the Meon Valley in the North of Hampshire for the 6km time trial on a gradually rising course up to Old Winchester Hill.

Matt Rowe (NFTO RC) was the quickest up in a time of 10mins 13secs, beating Billyard by 5secs and Andrew Williams (Cwmcarn Paragon) another 1secs further back. The early to middle runners had to contend with a heavy shower and blustery winds while the later runners managed to miss the worst of the weather.


After a break for the riders to recover they rolled away from the village and onto the course to complete a 110km, 7 lap road race. The bunch pretty much stayed together on the opening lap, four riders did try to get away but they were quickly pulled back into the bunch until David Billings showed intent mid way round the second lap but his lead was short lived.

The first proper attack came when Richard Harris (Cwmcarn Paragon CC) slipped off the front and soon built up a lead of 25secs over two chasers Charlie Revel (Somerset RC Bike) and Andrew Pickett (Eden Veranda Race Team) but this soon looked like coming back together.

With Harris still on the front he was joined by James Champken (VC St Raphael),David Rease (Liverpool Mercury CC) AND James Bonham (Danny Shane Storck) and a lead soon built up of nearly 40secs.

Milburys_GC Podium

At the half distance Harris once again tries to get away but was again reeled in. As soon as this junction was made Pat Wright (Pace Line RT) and Phillip Peters (Danny Shane Storck) pick up at the front.

While Peters dropped back Wright continued to push on and his lead soon went out to 45secs with three chasers trying to get across, they were Matthew Cryer (ACU), Harry Veale ( and the morning TT winner Matt Rowe (NFTO RT). As Wright built up his lead to over a minute over the peloton he looked like to have it done and dusted but the peloton worked away to reel his in until James Boyman took his chance and jumped across.

Boyman attacked on the last big climb back towards the finish and managed to get a gap of 30secs on the line before the remainder of the bunch came into view all together.

Provisional Results

Individual Time Trial
1st Matt Rowe NFTO RT 10mins 13secs
2nd James Boyman Farnham RC @5secs
3rd Andrew Williams Cwmcarn Paragon CC @6secs
Road Race
1st James Boyman Farnham RC 2hrs 31mins 24secs
2nd Kim Buckley PM @31secs
3rd Jack Billyard RP Racing Team @32secs
4th Matthew Cryer ACU @32secs
5th Patryck Rucki PM @32secs
6th Albert Ellison @33secs
7th Daniel Maynard Endeavour RT @33secs
8th Kris Jasper PM
9th Paul Sewell Big Foot CC
10th Rob Yeatman Cotswold Cycles RT

Overall GC
1st James Boyman Farnham RC 2hrs 41mins 12secs
2nd Ken Buckley PM @44secs
3rd Jack Billiard RP Racing Team @18secs
4th Matt Rowe NFTO RT @20secs
5th Andrew Williams Cwmcarn Paragon CC @22secs
6th Richard Harris Cwmcarn Paragon CC @28secs
7th Harry Veale @36secs
8th Phillip Peters Danny Shane Storck @39secs
9th Graham Collins Tanks Direct Cycling @42secs
10th David Murell London Phoenix CC @42secs

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,