Report – Hounslow & District Wheelers 25


James Boyman (Farnham RC) sets a new record of 49.39 in the Hounslow & District Wheelers 25 mile time trial

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report – Hounslow & District Wheelers 25
Open 25, 2015. (19th July)

The Hounslow and District Wheelers Open 25 Mile Time Trial was won with the record time of 49 minutes 39 seconds, the first time the 30 mph barrier as been surpassed in this event.

The winner was James Boyman (Farnham RC), and this result also establishes a new record for his club and becomes his personal best for the distance (previously 50.25). Although only twenty seven years of age James is a comeback rider, having started young and then hung up his racing wheels in 2010, to return only at the start of this season. It seems that this pause has been beneficial and he tells me that his ambition now is to make an impression on Premier Calendar Road Races. This certainly seems a possibility for someone capable of producing a forty nine minute 25 in the face of the difficult south west wind blowing last Sunday.

The second and third placed riders almost dead heated: Tim Cartwright (Newbury RC) recording 51.03 while Pete Tadros (In Gear- Quick Vit) finished one second slower in 51.04. Both of these times would have won every Hounslow 25 for the past 5 years, Tadros, who was himself last year’s victor, improving 12 seconds on that winning time. It seems worth mentioning here that there is an interesting parallel between Tadros and Boyman in that, contrary to current fashion, neither likes to be aware of any performance figures while riding, and neither of them even have a watch on their bikes: they were probably the only two riders in the field without this ‘distraction’. Pete Tadros also took the Veterans’ Standard Prize.

Silver Medallist Tim Cartwright is a relative newcomer to time trialling, this being only his third season. Aged thirty six he has enjoyed a previous career as a swimmer, but he has clearly got the knack of this new discipline having won the West London CA 50 by a margin of almost 5 minutes the previous week. Tim took the fourth place in the Hounslow 25 in 2014; we expect to see him move up to the top rung in the near future.

The Ladies category was won by the reigning British Best All Rounder Champion, Jasmijn Muller (Paceline RT), who is cleaning up in Hounslow events this year having also won this section in the Hounslow 100 in May. She finished with 59.52 which gave her a margin of 2 minutes 12 seconds over her nearest rival, Suzy Patience (Banbury Star CC) who recorded 1.2.04.

The Team Prize went to In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT led by Pete Tadros who was supported by David Pollard whose time of 54.10 also gave him the second veterans’ prize, and Simon Church who did 57.35.

The event was again run on the Farnham-Alton course and was efficiently organised by Bruce McMichael. It attracted 108 entrants.


1. James Boyman (Farnham RC) 49.39
2. Tim Cartwright (Newbury RC) 51.03
3. Pete Tadros (In Gear Quickvit Trainsharp) 51.04
4. Chris Nicholls (Regents Park Rouleurs) 52.43
5. Richard Prebble (Giordiana-Mitsubishi) 52.44
6. Alex Napier (Blazing Saddles) 52.57
7. Phil Watts (North Hants RC) 53.43
8. Oliver Mytton (Cambridge University CC) 53.49
9. Timothy Allen (RP Racing) 54.09
10=. Steve Williamson (…A3crg) 54.10
10=. David Pollard (In Gear Quickvit) 54.10
12. James Wright (Charlotteville CC) 54.20.

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,