Report – Wessex League Round 1


The first round of the new Wessex Cyclo Cross League saw a close win for Ben Sumner by the narrowest of margins over Daniel Tulett

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report – Wessex League Round 1 
Sunday 13th September 2015 | by Graham Robins

The first round of the new Wessex Cyclo Cross League saw a close win for Ben Sumner (Beeline Cycles) by the narrowest of margins over Daniel Tulett (Specialized Racing) after a closely fought race where the two riders could not be split throughout. The two riders soon built up a lead after a couple of laps and by the finish they had over 30secs over the next nearest rider Sam Allen (PedalOn).


With the lovely autumn weather holding out the course at the Oxford Spires Academy was hard and very fast. The organising club Oxonian CC had laid out a truly challenging course which included several steep climbs, wooded sections and several flat playing fields. As normal for a Wessex race the numbers were high all through the categories for the under 12’s to the seniors.

Once the senior race got underway Sumner and Tulett broke free from the rest and had quickly built a lead. Next up were Matt Macdonald (Eden Veranda Racing) and Allen who were also locked together. Next up was a four way tussle with Luke Gray (Trek), Paul Lloyd (Rides on Air), Matt Noble (Specialized Racing) and Jamie Norfolk (PedalOn).

Over the next couple of laps the first four places did not change but there were changes in the chasers as Gray started to fall back leaving Norfolk and Lloyd to fight out the lower places.

The veteran’s races were split with the +50 going ahead of the women and then later in the morning the vet 40 with the juniors. In the vet50 race Steven Davies (Hargroves Cycles) set of quickly followed by Tim Costello (GS Vecchi) and Dave McMullen (Cotswold Veldrijden). As Davies extended his lead Costello slipped back and before the finish was passed by McMullen.

The women’s race was won by junior rider Emily Wadsworth (Beeline Cycles) from Sarah Barber (NHRC) with Helen Pattinson (Solent Pirates) taking the last podium spot.

In the vet40 race Crispin Doyle (Hargroves Cycles) along with Tom Sewell (Cotswold Veldrijden) and Dan Guest (Performance Cycles) could not be separated for most of the race and they rode in a line until the final couple of laps. Mike Simpson (Beeline Cycles) was holding fourth just ahead of team mate Lewis King. With a lap to go Guest dropped back allowing Sewell and Doyle to enter the finish area locked together, but the younger rider had the legs to sprint away and win the race.

Whilst Sewell was riding up the front the other junior riders were challenging further down the order with Charlie Cooper (Eden Veranda Racing) and Joshua Hooper (Primerasport) closing out the junior podium.
1st Ben Sumner Beeline Cycles
2nd Daniel Tulett Specialized Racing
3rd Sam Allen PedalOn
4th Matt Macdonald Eden Veranda Racing
5th Paul Lloyd Rides On Air
6th Jamie Norfolk PedalOn

1st Steven Davies Hargroves Cycles
2nd Dave McMullen Cotswold Veldrijden
3rd Tim Costello GS Vecchi
4th Kevin Holloway VC10
5th Chris Hutchings VC Venta
6th Phil Boarer Blazing Saddles
1st Emily Wadsworth Beeline Cycles
2nd Sarah Barber NHRC
3rd Helen Pattinson Solent Pirates
4th Fay Cripps Southdown Bikes
5th Susan Parker NHRC
6th Natasha Reddy RP Racing

1st Crispin Doyle Hargroves Cycles
2nd Dan Guest Performance Cycles
3rd Mike Simpson Beeline Cycles
4th Lewis King Beeline Cycles
5th Graham Rogerson Cotswold Veldrijden
6th Gary Barlow Reading CC

1st Tom Sewell and first overall
2nd Charlie Cooper and 7th overall
3rd Joshua Hooper Primerasport and 8th overall
4th Ed Gronbech Oxford City RC and 9th overall

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK