Report: Sotonia Critérium Races 1


Mike Smith was the winner of the Sotonia Summer crit race one at the South Winchester Park and Ride

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report: Sotonia Critérium Races 1
(from Graham Robins | Sunday 19th June)

Mike Smith from the team was the winner of the Sotonia Summer crit race one at the South Winchester Park and Ride. After being away with team mate BenMarks and Joe Hickerton (Eden Veranda RT) Smith won the sprint to the line by four seconds from Smith and six from Hickerton.


The one hour and five lap race at the venue saw Smith make an attack on the first lap quickly building himself a strong lead. At the one third distance Smith was joined by Marks and Hickerton and these three soon built up a lead they were never going to relinquish. Once the lapped riders began to be pulled out the lead was over 30secs from a chasing group of ten.

After forty minutes Paul Double (VC Venta) and Oscar Hutchings (Primera-TeamJobs) slipped off the front of the chasing bunch and began to give chase but this only lasted a few laps and the two finally returned to the bunch. Double did have another go at getting across the gap but was never going to do it on his own and he too slipped back again.

So at the bell the three leaders still held their overall lead of 35secs with the chasing group now down to eight were locked together. As they appeared at the bottom of the course Smith was in the lead and with Marks close behind he crossed to line 4seconds clear. Hickerton took the final podium spot a further 2seconds behind. George Stainton-Ellis (Pedal Heaven Academy) won the bunch kick just ahead of Matthew Webster (Wellingborough RT).

Robert Hardyman (North Hants RC) was the winner of the third cat race after 50mins and 3laps of racing he won the bunch sprint on the line. There were only three women riders today and their race was won by Keri Parton (RAF CC).

Earlier in the morning Adam Downing ( had won the 4th cat race after being away in a group of nine for most of the race.


Category E/1/2/3
1 Mike Smith
2 Benjamin Marks
3 Joe Hickerton Eden Veranda Racing
4 George Stainton-Ellis Excel Pedal Heaven Academy
5 Matthew Webster Wellingborough Cycles Race Tea…
6 Patryk Rucki Skinline Race Club
7 Harry Veale
8 Stanley Kennett PMR@Toachim House
9 Oscar Hutchings Primera-TeamJobs
10 Paul Double Velo Club Venta
11 Matthew Downie Eden Veranda Racing
12 Stephen Cavey Southdowns Bikes – Casco

Category E/1/2/3/4
1 Keri Parton Royal Air Force CA
2 Chloe Barr
3 Gemma Stuart Mickey Cranks CC

Category 3
1 Rob Hardyman North Hampshire RC
2 Ed Slot Sotonia CC
3 Adam Holleyman Wight Mountain RT
4 Matthew Buckley Abbotts Ann Cycles
5 Ieuan Woods Charlotteville CC
6 Paul Barnard Southdowns Bikes – Casco
7 Andrew Mackay Sotonia CC
8 James Peckham Sotonia CC
9 Charlie Cooper Eden Veranda Racing
10 Robert Baird Blazing Saddles Cycles
11 Tom Lane Blazing Saddles Cycles
12 Phil Wilks Sotonia CC
13 Joseph Clark I-Team Cyclists’ Club

Category 4th Cat only
1 Adam Downing
2 Connor Ambrosini
3 Joshua Bakker Sotonia CC
4 Tom Budden Sotonia CC
5 Sam Stewart Southdown Velo
6 James Gill DHCyclesport
7 Ed Clarke Velo Club Venta
8 Matthew Posner Southampton University RC
9 Richard Windsor
10 Benjamin Hames Sotonia CC
11 Russell Speight Sotonia CC
12 David Martin Velo Club Venta
13 Jason Rushton Army Cycling Union
14 Kevin Easterbrook Royal Air Force CA

Category U16 Boys
1 Ieuan Woods Charlotteville CC
2 Charlie Walters Velo Club Venta
3 Samuel Clark I-Team Cyclists’ Club
4 Jamie Bray Chippenham & Dist Whls
5 Elliot Cox Portsmouth North End CC
6 Daniel Maclean-Howell Cardiff JIF
7 Alexander Pilgrim
8 Barney Clacy Eden Veranda Racing
9 Connor Geddes Gillingham and District Wheele…
10 Ollie Suatt VC Meudon
11 Thomas Munday I-Team Cyclists’ Club
12 Jack Martin Bournemouth Arrow/Hotel Collin…

Category U16 Girls
1 Caitlin Peters I-Team Cyclists’ Club
2 Lucy Gadd Poole Wheelers CC
3 Zoe Brookes Hillingdon Slipstreamers
4 Emily Bridson JCAYA
5 Megan Panton Woolwich CC

Category U14 Boys
1 Freddie Horner Behind The Bikeshed
2 Nathaniel Brookes Gillingham and District Wheele…
3 Toby Proctor

Category U14 Girls
1 Ella Shaftoe Cotswold Veldrijden

Category U12 Boys
1 Jamie Gostick Palmer Park Velo RT
2 Joel Maclean-Howell Cardiff JIF
3 Arlo Carey Palmer Park Velo RT
4 Peter Drabble VC Meudon
5 Felix Clacy Chapel Tri-Stars
6 Oscar Pratt Velo Club Venta
7 Charley Perkins

Category U12 Girls
1 Ella Maclean-Howell Cardiff JIF
2 Madeline Cooper Eden Veranda Racing
3 Elena Day Solent Pirates

Category U10 Boys
1 Edward Charles Charlotteville CC
2 Stanley Kent Hillingdon Slipstreamers
3 Bobby Buenfeld Velo Club Venta
4 Oliver Morgan Solent Pirates
5 Oliver Kent Hillingdon Slipstreamers
6 Arne Esslemont Andover BMX Club
7 Samuel Ridgment Sotonia CC
8 George Connell
9 Alfie Gaunt

Category U10 Girls
1 Greta Carey Palmer Park Velo RT
2 Melissa Cooper Eden Veranda Racing
3 Anna Patterson
4 Livia Kersley Andover Whls
5 Evelyn Mills Sotonia CC
6 Mabel Moody

Category U8 Boys
1 Jack Morgan Solent Pirates
2 Oliver Graham Sotonia CC
3 Oliver Patterson
4 Thomas Wilks
5 Joshua Graham Sotonia CC
6 Lucas Mills Sotonia CC

Category U8 Girls
1 Lauren Charles Charlotteville CC
2 Isabella Hall
3 Celia Moody
4 Skye Martingale Sotonia CC



Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK