Results – Guildford TCR 2016


1-2-3 for Pedal Heaven at the 2016 Guildford Town Centre circuit races on Wednesday night in the race won by Rory Townsend plus another victory for Jake Yarranton (Pedal Heaven Excel Academy)

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Results – Guildford TCR 2016

Thanks Matt for the report…

The 2016 edition of the Guildford Town Centre Races saw fast bike racing return to the newly relaid setts of Guildford High Street in a night of high drama. Despite the efforts of race organiser Jon Lewis attempting to neutralise the impact of local favourites Pedal Heaven RT from dominating the Penningtons Manches LLP Criterium by starting their Elite riders off with a one-lap handicap they soon reeled in the rest of the field and still went on to fill the podium with Rory Townsend taking the honours and lifting the Guildford Cup presented by Guildford Mayor Councillor Gordon Jackson. Max Stedman and Will Harper joined Townsend on the podium which was also followed by a full team celebration.


Rory Townsend (Pedal Heaven RT)

The 150 year old setts of Guildford have been going through a phase of reconstruction and relaying and with delays to the works in recent weeks it led to the course only being made available (even with restrictions on lower parts of the High Street) just hours before the racing began. The youth categories got the races off to a flying start with over 100 riders taking part across three different races and ten separate competitions in the Hamptons International Criteriums. There were big smiles (as well as grimaces) from the faces of the riders to match the loud cheers from the crowds.

Host club Charlotteville Cycling Club provided significant contributions to start list with a large number of their Go-Ride Rascals section racing around the circuit and three podium positions.


Unfortunately however, a crash in the Youth A/B race saw three of the girls hit the deck and the bottom of the High Street in a nasty crash which then led to a significant delay in further racing whilst medical staff attended to the fallen riders, two of whom needed to be transferred to the local A&E for further checks. Thankfully it was later confirmed that both riders were discharged with only cuts and significant bruising.

The subsequent delays meant that with the night drawing in the remaining races needed to be shortened in order to beat the approaching darkness. So it was that the rest of the racing took place at perhaps even greater pace than normal with riders aiming to make the difference early on in order to get in to that decisive break.

Jake Yarranton (Pedal Heaven Excel Academy) took the honours in the supporting Cyclework Local Heroes Criterium taking the scalp of the experienced, former winner Paul Hopkins (Merida Factory Racing) in the process. In the Blue Group Womens Criterium two riders quickly broke away from the rest of the bunch to take a commanding lead but despite a number of attacks neither could drop their opposition and it was left to a final lap spring up the High Street for Mathilde Pauls ( to take the win from Maryka Sennema (Paceline RT) in a thrilling finish.


Blue Group Womens Criterium Podium Charlotteville Cycling Club would like to thank all its sponsors, the officials, volunteers, riders and spectators for their support in making the event the spectacle that it was and further information, photographs and results can be found at the club website, @charlotteville on Twitter

Provisional Results

1 Mathilde Pauls Sigma 2nd
2 Maryka  Sennema Paceline RT 1st
3 Rosie Lethbridge Norwood Paragon 2nd
4 Victoria Lovett I-Team Cyclists Club 2nd
5 Sophie Edmondson The 5th Floor Cycle Club 2nd
6 Lydia Brookes Sigma 2nd
7 Hilde Oudman Starley Racing 3rd
8 Annabel  Fisher Neon-Velo 1st
9 Sophie Household SSLL Racing Team 2nd
10 Melissa Brand Team Ford Ecoboost 2nd
11 Rebecca Waters Performance Cycles 2nd
12 Aoife Doherty The 5th Floor Cycle Club 2nd
13 Rebecca Carter Team WNT 2nd
14 Susannah Osborne Sigma 3rd
15 Imogen Hutchings Velo Club Venta 3rd

Elite Criterium (E/1/2)
1 Rory Townsend Pedal Heaven
2 Max Stedman Pedal Heaven
3 William Harper Excel Pedal Heaven Academy
4 Alex Richardson Excel Pedal Heaven Academy
5 Isaac Mundy Oxford University Cycling Club
6 Matthew Clarke Excel Pedal Heaven Academy
7 Oscar Hutchings Primera-TeamJobs
8 Alex Paton Pedal Heaven
9 Dan Gardner Astellas Cycling Team
10 William Haynes Planet X – Northside Cycling
11 Anthony Moye Spirit Bikes Racing Team
12 Grant Martin Feather Cycles Racing
13 Jody Crawforth Hargroves Cycles – Ridley RT
14 Matthew Webster Wellingborough Cycles Race Team
15 Mark McCullagh Dulwich Paragon CC

‘Local Heroes’ 3rd Cat only
1 Jake Yarranton Excel Pedal Heaven Academy
2 Paul Hopkins Merida Factory Racing
3 Harvey McNaughton I-Team Cyclists Club
4 Chris Carter Newport Shropshire CC
5 William Everson Dulwich Paragon CC
6 Joseph Clark I-Team Cyclists Club
7 Jonathan Saunders Charlotteville CC
8 Lee Higlett South Western RC – Evans Cycles
9 Tom Shrimpton Specialized Racing
10 Andy Lindsay
11 Ben Huttly Brighton Mitre CC
12 Chris Hutchings Velo Club Venta
13 David Page WyndyMilla
14 Ollie Williams VC Meudon
15 Andrew Thomas Dulwich Paragon CC


D-cat Girls
1 Bobbie OBrien Hillingdon Slipstreamers
2 Carys Lloyd Lee Valley Youth Cycling Club
3 Tulsi Bakrania Team Darenth

D-cat Boys
1 Edward Charles Charlotteville CC
2 Ben Coppola Hillingdon Slipstreamers
3 Stanley Kent Hillingdon Slipstreamers

C-cat Girls
1 Caitlin Loveless Hillingdon Slipstreamers
2 Mia Loxley Palmer Park Velo RT
3 Emily Morris Charlotteville CC

C-cat Boys
1 Jed Smithson Hillingdon Slipstreamers
2 Mattie Dodd VC Londres
3 Joseph OBrien Hillingdon Slipstreamers


1 Anna Lloyd Lee Valley Youth Cycling Club
2 Lauren Charles Charlotteville CC
3 Sophie Hand WyndyMilla

1 Noah Potter WyndyMilla
2 Austin Mansfield WyndyMilla
3 Marco Croft WyndyMilla




Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,