Report/Result: Chepstow Grand Prix


Harry Tanfield and Alex Paton from Pedal Heaven team time trialed their way to victory in Chepstow (Monmouthshire) after a race long break.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report/Result: Chepstow Grand Prix

Tanfield and Paton_web

Harry Tanfield and Alex Paton from Pedal Heaven team time trialed their way to victory in Chepstow (Monmouthshire) after a race long break.

Tanfield was first to get away before being joined by Paton and from then on it was game over for the rest. A chase group formed behind with Steve Lampier, Tobyn Horton (Madison Genesis), a Spirit Bikes rider and Liam Stones.

Behind them, Raleigh GAC got numbers on the front and used up riders to peg the gap and then start to bring it down in the second half of the race.


Steve Lampier meanwhile, on a course that suited him, soon found himself on his own still a long way from the finish. So the race settled into a drag race with Tanfield and Paton (Pedal Heaven) on the front chased by Lampier with three chasers including Horton and Stones and then the peloton.

Max Stedman of Pedal Heaven had tried to bridge to the chasers on his own but he was brought back and the peloton, or what was left of it (not much) were soon within a few seconds of the chasers with only a handful of laps left.

That was the cue for the riders who had been sitting on the Raleigh GAC train to make their move and in the attack and counter attack moves the chasers were caught although Tobyn Horton of Madison Genesis still had the legs left to win the sprint for 4th ahead of Stedman (Pedal Heaven).


Alex Paton (2nd) & Harry Tanfield (1st) Pedal Heaven

Steve Lampier (3rd)



L-R: Steve Lampier (3rd), Harry Tanfield (1st) and Alex Paton (2nd)


Hugs for the riders from Pedal Heaven owner Craig Peters after the 1-2 from his riders


Sprint for fourth won by Tobyn Horton (Madison Genesis) from Max Stedman (Pedal Heaven)


The chase from the peloton as it catches the chasers and the sprint for fourth  starts with a lap to go


Ali Slater attacks out of the peloton with a lap to go


Liam Stones chasing Steve Lampier


Max Stedman (Pedal Heaven) attacks out of the peloton


Raleigh GAC missed the move and so took on the job of chasing the front groups down


Steve Lampier chasing the front two and keeping the gap to the chasers behind


Festive atmosphere in Chepstow for the race


Paton leads Tanfield as the duo open the gap to the chasers behind


Early in the race, Tanfield gets  gap on the chasers before being joined by his teammate Paton


Winner of  the support race, Isaac Mundy.

… continued after advert


Provisional Result
1 Harry Tanfield Pedal Heaven
2 Alex Paton Pedal Heaven
3 Steve Lampier JLT Condor
4 Tobyn Horton Madison Genesis
5 Max Stedman Pedal Heaven
6 Alistair Slater JLT Condor
7 Felix English Madison Genesis
8 Sebastian Mora Team Raleigh GAC
9 Tristan Robbins Madison Genesis
10 J Hennessy Spirit Bikes Racing Team
11 William Harper Excel Pedal Heaven Academy
12 James Newey Catford CC Equipe/Banks
13 Gruffudd Lewis Madison Genesis
14 Steven Roach Team Raleigh GAC
15 Harrison Jones Pedal Heaven
16 Richard Hepworth Team Raleigh GAC
17 Liam Stones NFTO
18 Matthieu Boulo Team Raleigh GAC
19 Andrew Turner KTM Impsport RT
20 Evan Oliphant Team Raleigh GAC
21 Glyndwr Griffiths 73Degrees CC
22 Richard Mardle NFTO
23 Robert Partridge NFTO
24 Jacob Tipper Pedal Heaven
25 Joseph Fry Pedal Heaven
27 Andrew Williams Cwmcarn Paragon Cycle Club
28 Albert Torres Team Raleigh GAC
29 Jean Bosco Nsengimana Team Rwanda – Dassi Bikes
30 Michael Butler Hargroves Cycles – Ridley RT
31 Jean Claude Uwizeye Team Rwanda – Dassi Bikes
32 Joseph Areruya Team Rwanda – Dassi Bikes
33 George Atkins JLT Condor
34 Fraser Martin Team Raleigh GAC
35 Owen James Catford CC Equipe/Banks
36 C Woolsey Spirit Bikes Racing Team
37 Charlie Revell Team Tor 2000 / Kalas Sportswear
38 James Higginson Catford CC Equipe/Banks
39 Samuel Mugisha Team Rwanda – Dassi Bikes
40 Graham Briggs JLT Condor
41 Taylor Gunman Madison Genesis
42 Joe Higginson Catford CC Equipe/Banks
43 Morgan Kneisky Team Raleigh GAC
44 E Clemens Spirit Bikes Racing Team
46 Stephen Williams JLT Condor
47 Thomas Scott-Collins Wellingborough Cycles Race Team
46 Luke Grivell-Mellor JLT Condor

Support 2/3/4 Race (Provisional)

1 Isaac Mundy Oxford University Cycling Club
2 Alexandre Touche Catford CC Equipe/Banks
3 Peter Banham Team Jewson-M.I.Racing-Polypipe
4 Ross Evans Cycology Sunwise
5 Rhys Phillips NFTO Race Club
6 Matt Witts Ride 24/7
7 Hefin Evans NFTO Race Club
8 Charlie White HMT with JLT Condor
9 James Lambton Oxford University Cycling Club
10 Gerry Bowditch Dream Cycling Race Team
11 Matthew Beckett Cardiff JIF
12 Robert Grover Velo Club Walcot
13 Jali Packer Strada-Sport
14 Iain Stuart Bristol RC
15 Andy Hoskins Cardiff JIF
16 Tim Hutchinson NFTO Race Club
17 Evan Powell Pontypool RCC
18 Oliver Cooper NFTO Race Club
19 John Russell
20 Darren Morgan NFTO Race Club
21 Iain Palmer Twickenham CC
22 Oliver Hayward University of Birmingham CC
23 Matt Morris NFTO Race Club
24 Christopher Springett Velo Club Montpellier


Youth A Girls
1 Megan James Abergavenny Road Club Youth A
2 Emily Abram Newport Youth Velo Cycling Club Youth A

Youth A Boys
1 Joshua Sandman Climb On Bikes CC Youth A
2 Brecon Burnett Maindy Flyers Youth CC Youth A
3 George Bazley Bristol Cycling Development
4 Morgan Curle Bristol Cycling Development
5 Ryan Watkins Union Cycliste Ystrad Mynach
6 Charlie Shields Bristol Cycling Development
7 Daniel Maclean-Howell Cardiff JIF Youth A
8 James Silcox Cardiff Ajax CC Youth A
9 Tom Silcox Cardiff Ajax CC Youth A
10 Conor Chandler Bristol Cycling Development Squad Youth
11 Will Bromham Westbury Wheelers Youth A
12 Samuel Beckett Cardiff JIF Youth A 2
13 Kieran Morris Mid Shropshire Wheelers
14 Lewis Hopkins BC Private Member Youth
15 Krispin Gardiner Bristol Cycling Develo

Youth B Girls
1 Danielle Parker Cycle Specific Youth B
2 Laura Curle Bristol Cycling Development

B Boys
1 Guto Dafydd Towy Riders Youth B 25:55 25:55
2 William Truelove Climb On Bikes CC Youth B
3 Rhys Thomas MnD Fusion RT / Gearclub / WORX
4 Iwan Evans The Bulls Youth B
5 Bevan Smith Cardiff JIF Youth B
6 Ryan Abram Newport Youth Velo Cycling
7 Gethin Price Maindy Flyers Youth CC
8 Liam James-Morris Maindy Flyers Youth
9 Cian Roberts Towy Riders Youth B
10 Evan Kennedy Newport Youth Velo
11 Euan Taylor Salt & Sham Cycle
12 Ryan Phillips Maindy Flyers Youth
13 Ayrton Smith Maindy Flyers Youth
14 Spencer Davies CC Abergavenny/JP
15 Max Williams Climb On Bikes CC Yo
1 Iolo Dafydd Towy Riders
2 Jack Hastings Cardiff JIF
3 Ethan Pratten Cardiff JIF
4 Bethany Bennett Towy Riders
5 Joel Maclean-Howell Cardiff JIF
6 Ella Maclean-Howell Cardiff JIF
7 Freya Evans The Bulls

1 Iestyn Jones Maindy Flyers Youth CC
2 Ryu Roberts Hayamizu Maindy Flyers Youth CC
3 Cian Evans The Bulls
4 Oscar Davies CC Abergavenny/JP Signs & Print

1 Oliver Bryan 00:25:16.000 Climb On Bikes CC
2 Ilan Dafydd Towy Riders
3 Catie Bignell Abergavenny Road Club



Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,