Result: Battle of Black Loch RR

Gregg OMalley winner of the 3/4/W/J Battle of Black Loch Road Race on the Boxton Circuit (Scotland)

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result: Battle of Black Loch RR

Thanks to Mark Young of myeventtiming

Photo credit Scott Armour

On a day which saw sun, rain, and lots of wind, Gregg O’Malley of Glasgow Couriers sealed an impressive solo victory in Saturdays Battle of Black Loch Road Race, hosted by West Lothian Clarion Cycling Club. Wind speed on the day often gusted to around 40mph, providing challenging riding conditions, however Gregg made a solo break on the 1st lap of the 5 lap race, and was able to stay ahead of the nearest chasing riders for the remainder of the race. Gregg extended his lead up to 1 minute at times, however finally finished the race in a time of 1:52:04, 36 seconds ahead of 2nd place rider Tom Merry (Edinburgh University CC), whilst Shaun Inglis (Hawick CC) finished in 3rd a further 2 seconds behind.

Speaking after the race, Gregg commented “As the flag dropped, the road rises up, and it was going pretty slow so I thought I’d just set a steady/hard pace to see what happened. On crossing the finish line for the second time I decided to push really hard for a lap or so. By the third or fourth time, I realised that I had a pretty good gap, and I didn’t see anyone when the road switches back on itself, so the confidence grew. On the final lap, I could see the bunch again, and had a mild panic moment, deciding I didn’t fancy losing at this point. From 300m out, I knew I had loads of time, and was able to sit up and finally enjoy it.”

1 Gregg OMalley Glasgow Couriers
2 Tom Merry Edinburgh University CC
3 Shaun Inglis Hawick CC
4 Hamish MacLean Musselburgh RCC
5 Alasdair Watt Musselburgh RCC
6 Colin Dunlop Veloclub Edinburgh
7 Simon Gaunt Kelso Wheelers
8 Murray Ferguson Falkirk Bicycle Club
9 Colin Jackson Edinburgh RC
10 Dominic Hines Veloclub Edinburgh
11 Keith Melvin Rock to Roll CC
12 Lewis MacFarlane Moray Firth Cycling Club
13 Andy Auld Leslie Bike Shop/Bikers Boutique
14 John Waller EH Star Cycling
15 Malcolm Dunlop Veloclub Edinburgh
16 Cameron Main Elgin CC
17 Ricardo Parreirinha
18 Guy Jones Harry Middleton Cycling Club
19 Christopher Watters VC Glasgow South
20 Samuele Sanna Musselburgh RCC
21 Neil Graham Edinburgh RC
22 Luke Bates EH Star Cycling
23 Allan Shearer Velocity 44 RT
24 Karl Denton Newcastle Cheviot CC
25 Ewan Murray Glasgow Green Cycle Club
26 Alastair Bailey GS Metro
27 Matthew Stephen Fife Cycling 2000
28 Franco McSherry Pedal Power RT
29 Andrew Wilson Magnafibre
30 Ewan Campbell Synergy Cycles
31 Scott Johnston
32 Alan Lamont Leslie Bike Shop/Bikers Boutique
33 Andrew Merry Discovery Junior Cycling Club
34 William Turner GJS Cruise Racing
35 Paul Thomson Edinburgh RC
36 Darryl Tait Gala Cycling Club
37 David Macivor Livingston Cycling Club
38 Neil Shepherd Gala Cycling Club
39 Seamus Spencer Ronde Cycling Club
40 Matthias Schwannauer Edinburgh RC
41 Greig Scott Synergy Cycles




Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK