News: British Road Championships 2018

The 2018 British Road Championships are to be held in the North East in 2018 with the Time Trial on Thursday and the Road Races on Sunday

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News: British Road Championships 2018

After a long delay, the venue for the 2018 British Road Championships will be held in the North East starting on June 28 with the time trials.

The time trials will be held on the Thursday on a rolling course expected to be within 10 miles of Stamdfordham where the Beaumont Trophy and Curlew Cup have been held for many years. The course for the road races has not been confirmed but with the Ryals course having been risked assessed and so on for the UCI event that was originally going to be held on June 17, and with the organiser Peter Harrison having just been awarded the championships quite late, my ‘hunch’ is that the championships,will be on the Beaumont/Curlew course.

Bradley Wiggins

The women’s and men’s Road championship will incorporate the well-established Curlew Cup and long-running Beaumont Trophy races, respectively. The only other details I’m not privy too and are probably still being discussed, will be how many times the riders in each of the races are sent over the Ryals as there are a number of courses that Peter has at his disposal for an event that has been won by the likes of Bradley Wiggins and sprinters too over the years.

The awarding of the championships to Peter and his Cyclone Festival of Cycling means the UCI Beaumont Trophy will not be held in 2018 but it is hoped the exposure the championships gives the event, will help ensure the short term future of the Beaumont and Curlew Cup.

Lizzie Deignan (nee Armistead)

The Cyclone Festival of Cycling will also see thousands of members of the public taking part in two events, the Tyne 6 Bridges Fun Rides on Friday 29 June and the Cyclone Challenge Rides, which is run over 34, 64, 90 and 106 mile routes, on Saturday 30 June. The latter is especially important for the event as the more entries for that event will be mean more security for the event as a whole financially. Think of it as crowd funding the championships!

Peter Harrison, organiser of the Cyclone Festival of Cycling, said: “It’s exciting news that the Cyclone Festival of Cycling will hosting the National Championships again. With family rides, a four-route sportive and national championships in both Road Racing and Time Trials, this year’s Cyclone will be a four-day Festival and it looks set to be our best yet, with something for everyone, whether they want to ride, race or spectate.”
… continued after advert


Entries are now open for the all the rides via the Cyclone website – you can also keep up to date on Twitter @CycloneFestival and on the Cyclone Cycling Facebook page

WHAT: British time trial championships for women and men

British Road  Race Championships women (morning) and men (afternoon)

British Road Championships 2011 (Ryals Course)

1 Elizabeth Deignan
2 Nicole Cooke MBE
3 Sharon Laws
4 Emma Pooley
5 Laura Kenny CBE
6 Lucy Martin
7 Danielle Rowe MBE
8 Catherine Williamson
9 Katie Colclough
10 Emma Grant


1 Bradley Wiggins KBE
2 Geraint Thomas MBE
3 Peter Kennaugh MBE
4 Ian Stannard
5 Ian Bibby
6 Kristian House
7 Ben Swift
8 Yanto Barker
9 Scott Thwaites
10 Andrew Fenn
11 Erick Rowsell
12 Richard Handley
13 Simon Yates
14 Luke Rowe
15 David Clarke
16 Thomas Moses
17 James Sampson
18 Andrew Tennant
19 Joshua Hunt
20 Ben Stockdale
… continued after advert


Former winners

Curlew Cup
2011 Lizzie Deignan (Armitstead) (Championships)
2012 Dame Sarah Storey
2013 Hannah Barnes
2014 Katie Archibald
2015 Laura Massey
2016 Nikki Juniper
2017 Julie Erskine

Beaumont Trophy
1952 Stan Blair
1953 Don Sanderson
1954 Des Robinson
1955 Don Sanderson
1958 Bill Baty
1962 Derek Hepple
1963 Ron Gardener
1964 John Dixon
1965 Norman Baty
1966 Ray Wetherell
1967 Ray Wetherell
1968 Ray Wetherell
1969 Paul Blackett
1970 Eddie McGourley
1971 Ray Wetherell
1972 Ray Wetherell
1973 Joseph Waugh
1975 Robin Childes
1976 Alan Topp
1982 Richard Healy
1983 Arthur Caygill
1990 Robert Harris
1991 Andy Matheson
1993 Richard Moore
1994 Paul Curran
1995 Mark Walsham
1997 Paul Blackett Jr.
1998 Elliot Gowland
1999 Ian Childes
2000 Billy Mitchinson
2001 Glen Turnbull
2002 Richard Sutcliffe
2003 Graham McGarrity
2004 Mark Wordsworth
2005 Malcolm Elliott
2006 Evan Oliphant
2007 Russell Downing
2008 Rob Hayles
2009 Bradley Wiggins
2010 Chris Newton
2011 Bradley Wiggins (championships)
2012 Russell Downing
2013 Dean Downing
2014 Kristian House
2015 Christopher Latham
2016 Dion Smith (NZL)
2017 Peter Williams



Cycle Division’s New Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK