Result: Wyre Forest Challenge

Monica Greenwood and Samuel Hillen winners on Sunday (May 9) in the Wyre Forest Challenge, promoted by Wyre Forest CRC on the Martley circuit in Worcs.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result: Wyre Forest Challenge

Photo: David Perry

Two very high class fields, including top-class club riders plus representatives from Team GB and professional teams, competed in Wyre Forest Cycle Racing Club’s Challenge Road Races on May 9th.

Contested over a 7.87 mile circular course in rolling countryside between Martley and Worcester, the day featured two races, a Men’s Category 3/4 event over 56 miles in the morning and a Women’s Category 2/3/4 race over 48 miles after lunch. The latter in particular was very well supported, being one of the first women’s road races held anywhere in the UK so far this year.

The event was conducted under the auspices of British Cycling and so featured a full complement of race officials and marshals, medical support and motorcycle outriders, ensuring the safety of competitors and road users alike. The event was also run in full compliance with current COVID restrictions, with both fields limited to 60 riders.

After some thrilling racing under bright and breezy conditions, the Men’s event was won by Samuel Hillen of Ilkeston Cycle Club, with Lucas Jewett and Kit Buchanan finishing second and third. In the Women’s race, Monica Greenwood of Macclesfield triumphed, leading Madalaine Leech and Ella Coleman home.

Club Chairman Matthew Boazman commented, “We were treated to a superb day of racing with a packed field of talented local and national riders in both the mens and ladies races. After the last year it was simply amazing to see racing taking place once more and to be able to showcase the fantastic support for cycling locally”

YouTube Video Here

Provisional (these results are due to be updated asap)

Riders in the women’s race – Due to a mix up between the lists used for rider numbers and those for transponders, means that the names assigned in the timing system do not necessarily match the names of the riders given those transponders. After a lengthy audit of the spreadsheets, the timing people have found 16 names that cannot be corrected. If any rider who is certain of their race number (which will match their transponder number) wishes to know their position, this can be provided. Contact via email

1 Monica Greenwood Macclesfield Wheelers
2 Madelaine Leech Team GB
3 Ella Coleman Awol
4 Alice Lethbridge Weston Homes-Torelli-Assure
5 Connie Hayes AWOL- OShea
6 Louise Hart Campinense – Velo Performance
7 Zoe Backstedt Team GB
8 Emma Jeffers JRC-Shutt-Ridley Race Team
10 Morven Yeoman Tofauti Everyone Active
11 Jasmine Jones Bianchi Dama
12 Isabelle Ellis Weston Homes-Torelli-Assure
13 Polly Burge Jadan – Vive le Velo
14 Keri Parton Pro Vision Race Team
15 Millie Couzens Team GB
16 Nicole Coates Weston Homes-Torelli-Assure
17 Isabel Darvill Team Boompods
18 Katie Scott CAMS-Basso
19 Hannah Lancaster Loughborough Lightning – TRG
20 Charlotte Gibson Awol
21 Holly Bailey JRC-Shutt-Ridley Race Team
22 Bethany Barnett Awol
23 Phoebe Martin AWOL- OShea
25 Rachel Jenkins Cowley Road Condors
26 Vicki Boddice Success Cycling
27 Emma Edwards CAMS-Basso
28 Georgina Paul Ross On Wye & District CC
29 Sian Reynolds Sprinteur Club Féminin
30 Melissa Baker ROTOR Race Team
32 Louise Scupham AWOL- OShea
33 Jessica Posnett Droitwich CC
34 Tia Froom Abergavenny Road Club
35 Grace Lister Team GB
36 Rebecca Richardson Brother U.K – Cycle Team OnForm
37 Amy Graham Team Boompods
38 Ella Roper Abingdon Race Team
39 Jacqueline Kinsey Awol
41 Kara Tranter Wyre Forest CRC
42 Lynsey Whitley Chester RC
43 Elaine Hardy V-Sprint
44 Susanna OShaughnessy Wyre Forest CC
45 Louise Morey Rebel Racing

Photo: David Perry

Men 2/3/4
1 Samuel Hillen Ilkeston Cycle Club
2 Lucas Jowett Beeston Cycling Club
3 Kit Buchanan Solihull CC
4 Jack Pearson Beeston Cycling Club
5 Ben Askey Backstedt Bike Performance RC
6 Craig Condie Bristol South CC
7 Ben Pierce Mid Shropshire Wheelers
8 Michael Newall HUUB Ribble Performance Academy
9 Edward Hopkins Beeston Cycling Club
10 Ollie Maynard St Ives CC
11 Alex Barker Cero – Cycle Division Racing Team
12 William Ryan Solihull CC
13 Thomas Charles trainSharp Development team
14 Fred Shenton-McQueen Beeston Cycling Club
15 Greig Burt Beeston Cycling Club
16 Carrick Hewing HUUB Ribble Performance Academy
17 Stuart Alford Warwick Lanterne Rouge C.C
18 Emile Glorieux Royal Leamington Spa CC (RLSCC)
19 Oliver Tandy Solihull CC
20 George Homer Halesowen A & CC
21 Stuart Glover Holohan Coaching Race Team
22 Jonathan Reilly Bristol South CC
23 Nick Hammond Ilkeston Cycle Club
24 Adam Bibbey Wyre Forest CC
25 Ben Peters North Cotswold CC
26 Alec Bond Mid Shropshire Wheelers
27 Samuel Jones Wyre Forest CRC
28 Stephen Cavey Droitwich Cycling Club
29 James Driver Cheltenham & County Cycling Club
30 Preslav Dimitrov Stratford CC
31 Mark Benson unattached
32 Lubomir Belak St Ives CC
33 Fraser Hall Wyre Forest CRC
34 Lewis Holmes Beeston Cycling Club
35 Finlay Holland Beeston Cycling Club
36 Alexander Craig Royal Leamington Spa CC (RLSCC)



Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK