Report: UK Youth Dominate Betty Pharaoh Memorial


Yanto Barker leads UK Youth to the top seven places in the Betty Pharaoh Memorial Road Race near Cardiff today

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Photos Ian Homer (

It is a race in which the team scored a 1-2 in 2011 and previous winners of the event included the legendary Welshmen Anthony Malarczyk (now a GB mechanic) and in 2004, former British Champion Geraint Thomas.


Yanto Barker leads a UK Youth cleansweep. Photo: Ian Homer

The challenging 111km – over 4 laps was basking in the South Wales sunshine, although the temperature never reached double figures. On the first lap, Team UK Youth had two riders, Jon Mould and Ian Wikinson, with an advantage over the peloton of around a minute, until Mould experienced some bad luck, puncturing both front and back tyres simultaneously.

The neutral service car had remained with the peleton at this stage and the team were not permitted to provide team car support. This unfortunate situation put pay to Welshman Jon’s race.

With Wilkinson returning to the peleton – that included some quality riders such as former 2-time event winner Colin Parry (SP!N-Rotor) and George Rose, the team re-grouped.

Forcing a split at the front, Wilkinson was once again “off the front” – this time with team-mates Yanto Barker, Josh Hunt and Rob Partridge – with two of Wales’ most promising young riders, Rob Westwood and Tristan Robbins, chasing hard with a fifth UK Youth Rider, Swedish international, Niklas Gustavsson.

On to the final circuit and Gustavsson had solo’d across the gap to the lead quartet – and the five man lead group were continuing to work hard displaying the professionalism, and respect we’ve come to expect from the class of 2013.


 ‘Local’ Jon Mould leads Ian Wilkinson on their early break. Photo: Ian Homer

The remaining two Team UK Youth riders Chris Opie, and James Lowsley-Williams had performed well at the front of the peloton – covering moves, and even attempting valiant solo efforts to bridge the ever-increasing gap.

In the conclusion – the quintet sustained the effort, and their lead to the finish – crossing the line together, Yanto Barker was given the nod, over Niklas Gustavsson, with Ian Wilkinson third, Rob Partridge fourth and Josh Hunt fifth.

Around 2 minutes later, three men entered the last few hundred meters together, marginally ahead of the fast moving peleton, Chris Opie and James Lowsley-Williams managed to out-wit one of the regions strongest and most consistent performers, SP!N-Rotor’s Colin Parry.

Category 3/4

In the Regional category 3/4 race no such team dominance occurred for the three laps. Any attacks were either for the Prime points at St Brides Major or were short-lived and easily countered. So for the most part it was ‘Gruppo Compatto’ on the Vale of Glamorgan undulating course.

Cardiff Ajax’ Alex Tuck did try for a long one in the final km but was overwhelmed by the rouleurs and sprinters as they turned left into the finish. The ensuing gallop produced a fine win by a few bike lengths by third cat Hywel Silvester of Bike Doctor with the juniors Jordan Bason MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling in second and Jack Reed Royal Dean Forest CC in third.


Yanto Barker with his trophy for the race. Photo: Ian Homer


Chris Opie. Photo: Ian Homer


Cardiff Ajax riders in their home race. Photo: Ian Homer


Photo: Ian Homer


Photo: Ian Homer


E/1/2/3 race
1. Yanto Barker Team UK Youth E Sen
2. Niklas Gustavsson Team UK Youth E Sen
3. Ian Wilkinson Team UK Youth E Sen
4. Rob Partridge Team UK Youth E Sen
5. Josh Hunt Team UK Youth E Sen
6. Chris Opie Team UK Youth E Sen
7. Marcin Bialoblocki Team UK Youth E Sen
8. Colin Parry SpinRotor-PrimalEurope-COriginalsRT 1st Sen
9. Rob Westwood Cwmcarn Paragon RC Jun
10. Tristan Robbins Cardiff JIF 2nd Jun
11. Gerry Bowditch NFTO 2nd Vet40
12. Craig Seaman County Cycles Racing Team 2nd Sen
13. Joseph Wiltshire Cwmcarn Paragon Cycle Club 2nd Jun
14. Andrew Feather Exeter Wheelers 2nd Sen
15. John Holt County Cycles Racing Team 1st Vet40
16. Michael Serafin Guernsey Velo Club 3rd Sen
17. Matthew Osborn GVC Edmond De Rothschild 2nd Sen
18. David Medhurst Cardiff Ajax CC 2nd Sen
19. Malcolm Dixon Severn RC 2nd Sen
20. Graeme Boswell Cardiff Ajax CC 2nd Sen

Category 3/4 race
1. Hywel Silvester Bike Doctor 3rd Sen
2. Jordan Bason MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling 3rd Jun
3. Jack Reed Royal Dean Forest CC 3rd Jun
4. Ryan Bevis NFTO 3rd Sen
5. David Gorton Team Tor 2000 3rd Sen
6. Christopher Fairclough Cwmcarn Paragon Cycle Club 3rd Sen
7. Mick Ballantyne NFTO 3rd Vet40
8. Hannah Walker Matrix Fitness Racing Academy 1st SenW
9. Michael Tarling West Wales Cycle Racing Team 3rd Sen
10. Joseph Lally CC Abergavenny 3rd Sen
11. Charles Solomon Bynea CC 3rd Jun
12. Gary Sturch Pontypool RCC 3rd Vet40
13. Adrian Peall Forza Cycles Racing Team 3rd Sen
14. Zach Minto Cardiff Ajax CC 4th Sen
15. Geoff Ripley Bristol RC 3rd Sen
16. Mark Davies Cycle Coaching Wales RT 3rd Sen
17. Ross Porter Team AC/DC 3rd Vet40
18. Sam Shannon Rutrainingtoday CC 3rd Sen
19. Alex Tuck Cardiff Ajax CC 4th Sen
20. Calum Challenger Onit Sports 4th Sen




RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,