Report/Result: Clifton CC Road Race


Connor Swift wins the Clifton CC Road Race on Sunday for category 2/3/4 riders at Aldborough, near York

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

thanks to Julie Rodman

It was warm and dry for a change in the lanes around Borough Bridge today for Clifton’s afternoon race. Fifty eight riders took to the start lane which was led out of Aldborough village on to the famous Milby circuit where the riders weren’t going to hang about.

The speed was fast and they were soon doing 50mph for five miles, the narrow roads made for the odd attacks but they were soon brought back not gaining more than twelve seconds.

With strong teams wanting a bunch sprint, none of the breaks were sticking and counter attacks were fast and furious only to be dragged back again. The strong wind didn’t help for breakaways.

With two laps to go Steve Coates (We Love Mountains) and Richard Moore (Squadra RT) gained twenty two seconds, however Dirtwheels riders weren’t letting this go and brought them back on the final lap.

The average speed was 26mph in windy conditions so they weren’t hanging around.

The last lap the odd rider(s) tried to get away and eventually the elastic was broken with Connor Swift (Bike box Alan) attacking with Andy Shaw (Out of the Saddle). This was the decisive move and they were joined by Mike Marshall (Dirtwheels).

These riders worked well together to take the first three places followed by a bunch sprint finish with Peter Barusevicus  (Dirtwheels) just holding off Giles Pidcock (Chevin Cycles).

Clifton certainly fetched the riders out for the day and the families all made it a great team effort, with it being complemented by great traffic management with Rich Houghton and his team.

The riders were even treated to a superb spread laid on in the village hall.

Best third cat rider was Andy Shaw in second place, with best fourth cat going to Richard Benson Yorkshire Velo.


1. Connor Swift. Bike Box Alan
2. Andy Shaw. Out of the Saddle RT
3. Mike Marshall. Dirtwheels RT
4. Peter Barusevicus Dirtwheels RT
5. Giles Pidcock. Chevin Cycles
6. Dominic Smith. Retford and district whs
7. Lewis Jackson. Team Diabetes uk
8. Nathan Wilson. Wilson Wheels
9. Ben Hallworth. Ilkley CC
10. Dan Keena. Squadra RT
11. Simon Maudsley. Dirtwheels RT
12. Jacob Trotter. Squadra RT
13. Jon Wilkinson. BBM Revolution
14. Dave Sowerby. Sowerby bros RT
15. Richard Moore. Squadra RT




RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,