Report/Result: Eastern Counties Cycling Association Open 25

PB for Rhys Howells as he wins the Eastern Counties Cycling Association Open 25 mile time trial 

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes


Well the weather was a repeat of last year – dry, bright and not too windy. Sadly again a smaller field than previously, further depleted by a number of dns who are I hope recovering from their various ailments. Hopefully this fall was just due to the rerun the previous day of the abandoned Counties 10 and we will see an increase next year. Anyway, for those able to ride, thank you for your support and congratulations to all the prize winners especially Rhys who recorded a PB in the process of taking top honours and to several others who improved on their current best. See I said the conditions were pretty good!

Obviously your “enjoyment” was not possible without your timekeeper, John, and the first class jobs done by another John (Team Vision Racing), Alex (West Kent RC), Justin and David (East London Triathletes), yet another John (Eagle RC) a Jim (Becontree Wheelers) and Jason (Hertfordshire Wheelers). Thank you all for making my job easier and thank you Simon for the bacon butties (I understand Netta was indisposed!).

Regrettably the event was somewhat marred and the prize list materially altered by the over-eagerness of two riders to record good times. They went completely the wrong side of the mini roundabout at Leaden Roding in contravention of both the Highway Code and CTT London East Regulation 4.6.1 and as a consequence had to be disqualified. This was not the first time I have had to do this and I don’t take any pleasure from doing so. However the rules are there for your safety so please abide by them because promoters have enough to contend with without added complications.

Finally there is still plenty of time to ride up North Hill, Little Badow (twice) in the Counties Hillclimb on Saturday 13 October. It would be nice to get more than the usual 20 riders!

1 Rhys Howells East London Velo 56.31
2 Simon Daw CC Sudbury 58.37
3 Rob Young Essex Roads CC 58.40
4 Mark Steers Hainault RC 59.29
5 Terry Garlinge East London Velo 59.51
6 Ian Short API 1.00.12
7 David Nicholls Chelmer CC 1.00.35
8 Neil Hornett Eagle RC 1.01.00
9 Jonathan Weatherley CC Sudbury 1.01.20
10 Rob Dulson Hainault RC 1.02.20
11 Geoffrey Martin Glendene CC 1.03.59
12 Philip Paffey Chelmer CC 1.04.30
13 Wayne Greve Shaftesbury CC 1.05.41
14 Dan Smith Hainault RC 1.05.49
15 John Bonnyhood Victoria CC 1.06.00
16 Steve Tidiman Essex Roads CC 1.06.04
17 Scott Clark Chelmer CC 1.06.07
18 Adrian Tovey Maldon & Dist CC 1.06.31
19 Geoff Bridger Crest CC – Ilford 1.06.50
20 Malcolm Haigh Essex Roads CC 1.08.41
21 Brian Martin Ciclos Uno 1.11.48
22 Antonio Paolino Eagle RC 1.13.21
23 Alan Nye (T) Viking RC 2.04.38

Ewan Hendon Ciclos Uno 58.45
Lea Marshall Essex Roads CC


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,