Report & Results – Witham Wheelers Road Races


Chris McNaughton & Russell Falder winners in the Witham Wheelers Road Races on Bank Holiday Monday

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report & Results – Witham Wheelers Road Races
(thanks to Simon – Races supported by PedalPushers)

Category 3/4 Race
The GT Ellingworth 3/4 category event over 48 miles had a good field of 70 riders on a rolling course of mainly quiet but narrow country lanes. As the race started, a light drizzle descended which seemed to make some riders quite nervous and by the end of the first lap some 26 riders had already lost contact with the main bunch with 2 riders just off the front as they came through the finish line.

After that it was more a case of attrition and it wasn’t until the start of the last lap when Chris McNaughton (Leicester Forest) established a small gap, which the bunch seemed content to watch, as he pushed it out to 30 seconds. As he hit the hill with one km to go, the bunch was at last reacting but it was too late as Chris stayed clear to win by 5 seconds with Ross Simmonds (Bio Cadenza) winning the bunch sprint.

1 Chris McNaughton Leicester Forest CC 3rd
2 Ross Simmons Bio Cadenza RT 3rd
3 Ian Taylor Leicester Forest CC 3rd
4 Alistair Golby VO2 Development Team 4th – J
5 William Perrett Heanor Clarion CC 3rd – J
6 Martyn Ludlam Witham Wheelers Cycling Club 3rd
7 Oliver W Bates 45 Road Club 3rd – J
8 Joseph Perkins Beeston RC 4th
9 Richard Smith Kettering CC 3rd
10 Paul Bennett Bio Cadenza RT 3rd
11 Nick Horder Welland Valley CC 3rd
12 Jake Poole Private Member 3rd – J
13 Josh Asquith Arrow Cycles 4th
14 Martin Perrett Heanor Clarion CC 3rd
15 David Woodiwiss 3rd
16 Liam Hallam Private Member 3rd
17 Simon Avis Royal Air Force CC 4th
18 Toks Adesanya Addiscombe CC 3rd
19 Lee Johnson Out Of The Saddle 3rd
20 Brad Legrand Beeston RC 4th
21 Andrew Hicklin Fusion Cycling Club Dronfield 3rd
22 Adam Smith Beeston RC 3rd
23 Euan Adamson Lincoln Wheelers CC 4th
24 Jonathan Harvey Dinnington Racing Club 4th
25 Johnathan Bonnett Derby Mercury RC 3rd
26 Chris Lee VC Lincoln 3rd
27 John Dolan Mammoth Lifestyle Racing Team 3rd
28 Ian Russell Arrow Cycles 3rd
29 Christopher Carter Witham Wheelers Cycling Club 3rd
30 Jason Felose 3rd
31 Marcus Nainby Team WNT 3rd
32 David Beachill Stocksbridge CC/Irwin Mitchell Solicitors/Claremont Hospital 3rd
33 Steve Donald Derby Mercury RC 4th
34 Wayne Harris Private Member 3rd
35 Martin Smith Beeston Cycling Club 3rd
36 James Mason Royal Air Force CC 3rd

Category E/1/2/3
The afternoon GA Bennett E/1/2/3 category event held over 83 miles, also this year incorporated the East Midlands senior road race champs, due to date clashes the previous weekend and had another good field of 70 riders.

On the first lap Tom Neale (Phil Corley)had an 18 second lead but a lap later he had been replaced by a four man break Adam Gascoigne, (Pedal Power), Jim Coleman (PedalPushers), Malcolm Smith (St Ives) and Carl Dyson (Achieve Skinner gate) which had a one minute lead over the chasing bunch.

This break was to stay out front for almost 4 of the 12 mile laps, although the gap never went much over 1 minute and with 2 laps to go three riders bridged the gap Oliver Davies, Will Haynes (Clay Cross RT) Dave Shackleton (Wills Wheeles) and the bunch at 20 seconds.

But as the bell rang Russell Falder (Clay Cross RT) now had a 10 second lead over Lee Baldwin (Champion Systems) Michael Cripps (Army CU) Mike Wragg ( Arbis- Colbert)and the bunch not far behind. But these 4 soon combined and opened up a 50 second lead, which they held to the finish where Falder proved too strong on the hill to finish a clear winner from Baldwin and Wragg. Tom Neale (Team Corley) finished 5th and won the BC East Mids Regional Championships.

1 Russell Falder Clay Cross Road Team 2nd
2 Lee Baldwin Champion System/Club Roost/Maxgear 1st
3 Mike Wragg Arbis – Colbert Cycles RT 1st
4 Michael Cripps Army Cycling Union 2nd
5 Tom Neale Team Corley Cycles 1st U23
6 Stuart Marshall Team Zenith – Buzz Cycles 2nd
7 Kieran Brady City cycle 2nd
8 Malcolm Smith St Ives CC 1st
9 Phil Giles Beeston Cycling Club 2nd
10 Joseph Clark Team Zenith – Buzz Cycles 2nd U23
11 David Clarke KTM 1st
12 Connor Swift Bike Box Alan/Whiston Velo 1st U23
13 William Corden Lyme RC 2nd
14 Alex Jones Audlem Cycling Club 2nd
15 Oliver Maxwell Windmill Wheels Cycling Club 1st – J U23
16 Robert Orr Metaltek KUOTA RT 1st
17 Matthew Exley RT 2nd
18 Adam Kenway Team Zenith – Buzz Cycles 2nd
19 Jamie Burgan Langsett Cycles RT 1st
20 Paul Searson Nottingham Clarion CC 2nd
21 Matthew Clarke Wheelbase Altura 1st
22 David Shackleton Wilsons Wheels RT Elite
23 David Lowe Dave Hinde RT 2nd
24 Nicholas Jepson Beeston RC 2nd
25 William Haynes Clay Cross Road Team 1st U23
26 Marcus Partridge Windmill Wheels Cycling Club 2nd U23
27 Carl Dyson Achieve-Skinnergate Racing 1st
29 Edward Pickard Beeston RC 2nd
30 Steve Abbott Team Hoppers Rollers Elite
31 Mark Wakeling Beeston RC 2nd
32 Genadys Tilgalis Green Wheel Cycles 2nd
33 Stuart Murfin Ashfield RC 3rd
34 Dion Black Kenilworth Wheelers CC 2nd
35 Ben Rowe WyndyMilla – Reynolds 2nd
36 Jeremy Honor RT 2nd
37 Mike Jackson CC Luton 1st
38 Jim Coleman Pedal Pushers 3rd
39 Richard Poynter London Phenix 3rd
40 Ben Irwin Beeston RC 3rd
41 Harry Browning Pedal Pushers 2nd U23
42 Matthew Nell Team Jewson 2nd
43 Llewellyn Byrne Witham Wheelers Cycling Club 3rd
44 Jonathan Shuster Team Corley Cycles 1st
45 Tim Allen Arrow Cycles 1st


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,