Report – Welwyn Track League


Crash brings Welwyn Friday Night Track League to a premature end after a great evening’s racing in Hertfordshire

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report – Welwyn Track League
from Peter Waghorn

NOTE: Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

A great evenings racing with a high number of riders which was unfortunately brought to a premature close due to a crash in the second round of the Senior A Madison. George Farrell who was riding with Tony Gibb had notched up a second place in round one but came down aftrer touching a wheel on a bend in the early stages of the 30 lap Madison. By the time the Ambulance left the track it was too late to continue what had promised to be a really good meeting.

Carl Jolly won the opening 10 lap for senior B riders while Martin Ruepp took the opening 10 lap A for non Madison riders.

The opening 12 lap Madison had nine evenly matched teams and the Nuun Velo pair of Symon Lewis/Tony Lock led them home.

The three youth category events has a good number of riders – Glen Dossett won the 8 lap Youth A scratch but his team lost out in the 8 lap team event to clubmate Will Raymond.

Sam Asker was delighted to take the 6 lap youth B event after a few weeks absence . The two group CDE events saw Adam Lightfoot take the scratch race but the 3 lap handicap went to Ben Griffin.

Three more Track League events to go to finish the season on September 12th.

Senior A
10 lap scratch – Martin Ruepp (Iceni Velo) Rob Cox (Cambridge) Will Thompson (Nuun Velo)

Senior B
10 lap scratch – Carl Jolly (Hillingdon) Bryan Davies (CC Ashwell) Charles Page (Hillingdon)
10 Lap Handicap – Charles Page (Hillingdon) Michael Parry (Welwyn) Tony Marriot (Herts Whs)

12 lap A Madison – Symon Lewis/Tony Lock (Nuun Velo) Tony Gibb/George Farrell (CSE) John McClelland/Andy Hastings

Youth A
6 lap Scratch – Glen Dossett, Will Raymond , Ben Webster (all Welwyn)
8 lap Block Pursuit – Will Raymond, Cai Davies, Tom Durkin (all Welwyn)

Youth B
6 lap scratch – Sam Asker (West Suffok) Jamie Dene (Welwyn) Emily Sinclair (Welwyn)
6 lap Block Pursuit – Nathan Blackmore (Welwyn) Christian Manzi (Welwyn) Reece Pollen (CC Hackney)

Youth CDE
3 lap Scratch – Adam Lightfoot (CC Ashwell) Ben Griffin (Welwyn) Tom Sharples (Welwyn)
3 lap handicap A – Ben Griffin, Tom Sharples, Ben Hinchliffe (all Welwyn)


Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,