Report – Scottish Road Championships


Chloe Fraser and Steven Lawley take top spots at Scottish Road Race Championships in Ayr on Sunday

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report – Scottish Road Championships

On Sunday 31st May, over 100 of Scotland’s top road cyclists made the journey to Ayr to compete in the Scottish Road Race Championships. A heavy overnight downpour combined with blustery showers made the 17 mile course in Ayr a tough challenge for all.

The female riders were first to the line to tackle 3 laps of the coastal route. 21 year old Chloe Fraser (Team Rytger) from Dingwall, Ross-Shire battled against the elements to claim the coveted title with a time of 2.26 minutes. Fraser finished 0.6 seconds ahead of Aberdeenshire cyclist Julie Erskine (IKON – Mazda) and 0.9 seconds ahead of the 2014 Scottish Road Race Champion Jane Barr (Velocity 44 Stirling) from Alloa.

16 year old Rosa Martin from Preston, Lancashire took the title of Scottish Cycling’s Junior Road Race Champion.


Next to compete for the Scottish Cycling National Road Race title were the men. Steven Lawley (Neon-Velo Cycling Team) took the top spot, completed all 5 laps in 3.33 minutes. One minute 54 seconds later Jack Barrett (Team Moda-Anon) from Kingussie, Evan Oliphant (Raleigh GAC) from Tranent, Kieran Brady (Richardsons-Trek RT) from Ely, Cambridgeshire and Peter Anderson (The Racers) from Laurencekirk fought out the sprint for second and third place.

After a nail biting finish 22 year old Barrett took second place with Commonwealth Games athlete Evan Oliphant finishing in third.

1 Chloe Fraser Team Rytger
2 Julie Erskine IKON – Mazda
3 Jane Barr Velocity 44 Stirling
4 Lynsey Curran
5 Ashleigh Fraser Deeside Thistle CC
6 Lorna Ferguson Glasgow Green Cycle Club
7 Seonaid Thompson Albarosa Cycling Club
8 Amanda Tweedie Deeside Thistle CC
9 Ellen McDermott Team WattCycle
10 Rosa Martin PH-MAS VCUK Women’s Cycling Te…
11 Laura Nicolson Moray Firth Cycling Club
12 Julianna Rourke Edinburgh RC
13 Natalie Munro Moray Firth Cycling Club
14 Lynne Wardrop Ayr Roads Cycling Club
15 Janet Erskine Ayr Roads Cycling Club
16 Lulu Bartlett The Racers
17 Emma Borthwick Edinburgh RC
18 Sarah Bradford Johnstone Wheelers Cycling Clu…

1 Steven Lawley Neon-Velo Cycling Team
2 Jack Barrett Team Moda-Anon
3 Evan Oliphant Raleigh GAC
4 Kieran Brady Richardsons-Trek RT
5 Peter Anderson The Racers
6 Sean Noon Spokes Racing Team
7 Peter Murdoch Neon-Velo Cycling Team
8 Craig Wallace Infisport-Alavanet
9 Ruari Grant Velo Club Edinburgh
10 Jack Richards Deeside Thistle CC
11 David Lines Velosure Starley Primal
12 Neil Scott Dundee Thistle RC
13 Jason Roberts Pro Vision Cycle Clothing
14 Scott McCrossan Paisley Velo Race Team
15 Ross Crook Edinburgh RC
16 Richard McDonald Pro Vision Cycle Clothing
17 Alastair McNicol
18 Mark Robertson Army Cycling Union
19 Jordan Doig Pedal Power RT
20 Alastair Kay York Cycleworks
21 Gary Hand SportGrub KUOTA Cycling Team
22 Lewis Oliphant Velo Club Edinburgh
23 Craig Adams Leslie Bike Shop/Bikers Boutiq…
24 Angus Claxton Glasgow Cycle Team
25 David Reed Granite City RT
26 Andrew Hood Leslie Bike Shop/Bikers Boutiq…
27 Callum Sharp Kinross CC
28 Alister Watt Granite City RT
29 Alan Dean Edinburgh RC
30 David Gleave East Kilbride Road Club
31 Lewis Duff Glasgow Couriers
32 Stuart MacGregor Pro-AM Racing Club
33 Andrew Bruce Kinross CC
34 Ross Clark Glasgow Ivy CC
35 Peter Wakely Edinburgh RC
36 Nathan Beard Gala Cycling Club
37 Sean Delaney Deeside Thistle CC
38 Robert Friel Pro Vision Cycle Clothing
39 Jordan Stronach Spokes Racing Team
40 Andy Colman Gamma Racing Team

Top 5 Results – JUNIOR WOMEN
1 Rosa Martin PH-MAS VCUK Womens Cycling
2 Lulu Bartlett The Racers
3 Emma Borthwick Edinburgh RC
4 Sarah Bradford Johnstone Wheelers Cycling Club

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,