Report – Wessex League Rd13


Good day for Hargroves Cycles – Ridley as Jody Crawforth leads a series of victories at the Wessex League Geoff Shergold Memorial Cyclo-Cross

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report – Wessex League Rd13

NOTE: Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Geoff Shergold Memorial Cyclo-Cross | Report & Pic by Graham Robins  | Sunday 28th December

Jody Crawforth (Hargroves Cycles – Ridley) set the early pace in the latest round and by the second lap he had started to establish a lead which he held onto until the end finishing nearly two minutes clear of second place rider and team mate Matt Macdonald. The 34 year old rider from Guildford lead a trio of Hargroves Cycles-Ridley riders over the early stages of the race before Andy Hargroves started to slip back as the pace increased at the front.


The race was held at a very cold and frosty Southampton Sports Centre and was held in Memorial to Geoff Shergold, a stalwart of the Wessex and UK Cyclo-Cross scene, who passed away in 2013, and the race was promoted by Crabwood Cycle club.

Once the initial lap was completed the trio from Hargroves Cycles began to put some distance into the remainder of the pack chasing them down, but first Sam Allen (UC Nantes Atlantique) and then Jamie Newall (Pedal Heaven) began to get across the gap. By lap three Crawforth was a minute up on Macdonald and nearly two minutes over third place Allen. Joe Andrews (Eden Veranda Racing) was now the leading under 23 rider having passed Andy Hargroves on his way to fifth place.

As the remaining laps ticked away the places remained the same with just the time differences changing. At the flag Crawforth was 1min 47secs clear over Macdonald with Allen coming in third at 2mins 41secs.

Earlier in the day Crispin Doyle (Hargroves Cycles) managed to hold off a charging Mike Simpson (GS Henley) to win the vet40 class. Doyle and Simpson broke free of the remainder of the riders and were soon pulling away from third place and first junior rider Tom Sewell (Cotswold Veldrijden. The third vet rider was Tim Hyde (GS Henley) along with Graham Rogerson (Cotswold Veldrijden) and Phil Bowley (Alton CC) these riders completed to top six.

In the 50+ category it was Dave McMullen (Cotswold Veldrijden) leading Steve Davis (Hargroves Cycles) Malcolm Cross (Hargroves Cycles) and Chris Hutchings (VC Venta). Helen Pattinson (Solent Pirates) was having better luck this week having a trouble free run to winning her first ever Wessex League race following a mechanical in the last race whilst leading.

In the vet 40 race Doyle and Simpson stretched their lead over Sewell leaving Hyde, Rogerson and now Dean Hitchings (Eden Veranda Racing) to fight it out in the middle of the race. On the final lap Rogerson managed to catch and pass Hyde in the woods for third vet. Tim Costello (GS Vecchi) was now leading the vet 50+ but he had Steve Davis right on his wheel, and Chris Hutchings was 22secs further back.

On the final lap Doyle made a strong attack as he tried to shake away the charging Simpson, he finally did so at the back of the course as they came back into view. On the line Doyle’s winning margin was 12secs over Simpson with Sewell at 1min 46secs. Steve Davis held off Costello by 4secs to win the 50+ race with Chris Hutchings third.

Elliott Lassiter (Cotswold Veldrijden) was made to work hard for his win in the youth race as he had to come back from a slow start to finally pass Ed Gronbech (Oxford City RC) and Charlie Cooper (Eden Veranda Racing) with Emily Wadsworth (Beeline Cycles) the first u16 girl with her younger sister Maddie taking second place and winning the u14 girl category.

Provisional Results
1st Jody Crawforth Hargroves Cycles 47mins 30secs
2nd Matt Macdonald Hargroves Cycles @1min 47secs
3rd Sam Allen UC Nantes Atlantique @3mins 16secs
4th Jamie Newall Pedal Heaven @3mins 58secs
5th Joe Andrews Eden Veranda Racing @4mins 12secs 1st u23
6th Andrew Hargroves Hargroves Cycles @4mins 51secs
7th Tom Budden Sotonia
8th Seb Lloyd Plymouth CX

Vet 40
1st Crispin Doyle Hargroves Cycles
2nd Mike Simpson GS Henley @12secs
3rd Tom Sewell Cotswold Veldrijden @1min 46secs and 1st Junior
4th Graham Rogerson Cotswold Veldrijden @2mins 23secs
5th Tim Hyde GS Henley @2mins 33secs
6th Dean Hitchings Eden Veranda Racing @3mins 11secs

Vet 50+
1st Steve Davis Hargroves Cycles
2nd Tim Costello GS Vecchi @4secs
3rd Chris Hitchings VC Venta

1st Helen Pattinson Solent Pirates

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,