News – RideLondon Women’s GP


Trott, Juniper, Brennaeur and Johansen some of the stars for the RideLondon Women’s Grand Prix

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News – RideLondon Women’s GP

Some of the biggest stars of women’s road cycling gear up for the prestigious criterium race, the RideLondon Women’s Grand Prix.


Inaugural winner Laura Trott and last years winner Bronzini are just two of the world-class stars who will be racing around the 1.3-mile loop course bordering St James’s Park at 6pm. Both their teams will have a big presence in the race as they look to support their star riders.

“It’s going to be a great race, with something like the 10 best sprinters in the world competing,” said Trott today as she met the public at the Prudential RideLondon Cycling Show. “My form has been pretty good on the track and although this is a road race, I still hope to do very well.”

Bronzini has had a consistent season and with her Wiggle Honda teammates, including British Olympian Dani King and Scot Eileen Roe, lined up to play a supporting role, she may well be delivered to the line. Roe could even look for a win herself though after coming second on a similarly flat course at the London Nocturne in June.

Many other riders will also relish the flat, fast course, including Sweden’s former World Champion and reigning national time trial champion Emma Johansson of ORICA-AIS. Johansson is one of the most experienced riders in the women’s peloton and has the tactical nous to do well in a field of largely young cyclists.


Scottish rider Katie Archibald is another name to look out for. The 23-year-old Pearl Izumi Sports Tour International cyclist recently won a silver medal in the individual pursuit at the Under-23 UEC European Track Championships and has the ability to ride off the front of the group and stay away.

Lisa Brennauer (above) of Velocio-SRAM Pro Cycling could also make a breakaway stick. Currently ranked second in the world, the German star won the overall title at the recent five-stage Aviva Women’s Tour and was world time trial champion last year.

British circuit race champion Nikki Juniper (Giordana/Triton) is a strong contender from the UK domestic teams. The National Series winner has shown consistent form this season, winning the individual standings in the Matrix Fitness GP Series as well.

Molly Weaver of Team Liv-Plantur came fourth in the national road race championships and the 21-year-old is likely to be in good form as she comes fresh from riding the Giro d’Italia Internazionzale Femminile.

The women’s race will be followed by youth races for girls and boys when some of the hottest young cycling talent in the country will race for regional teams on the same spectacular course.


1 Giorgia Bronzini Wiggle Honda pro cycling team
2 Danielle King Wiggle Honda pro cycling team
3 Annette Edmondson Wiggle Honda pro cycling team
4 Chloe Hosking Wiggle Honda pro cycling team
5 Eileen Roe Wiggle Honda pro cycling team
6 Amy Roberts Wiggle Honda pro cycling team
7 Anna Christian Wiggle Honda pro cycling team
8 Laura Trott Matrix Pro Cycling
9 TBC Matrix Pro Cycling
10 TBC Matrix Pro Cycling
11 TBC Matrix Pro Cycling
12 TBC Matrix Pro Cycling
13 Lisa Brennaeur Velocio Sports
14 Trixi Worrack Velocio Sports
15 Loren Rowney Velocio Sports
16 Barbara Guarischi Velocio Sports
17 Annalisa Cucinotta Ale Cipolinni
18 Marta Tagliaferro Ale Cipolinni
19 Maria Giulia Confalonieri Ale Cipolinni
20 Shelley Olds Ale Cipolinni
21 Emma Johansen Orica AIS
22 Molly Weaver Team Liv Plantur
23 Kayleigh Brogan APRIRE Bicycles / HSS Hire
24 Lucy Harper APRIRE Bicycles / HSS Hire
25 Edita Janeliunaite APRIRE Bicycles / HSS Hire
26 Rebecca Mackey APRIRE Bicycles / HSS Hire
27 Emily Mellor APRIRE Bicycles / HSS Hire
28 Lucy Chittenden Bonito Squadra Corse
29 Henrietta Colborne Bonito Squadra Corse
30 Anna Marie Hughes Bonito Squadra Corse
31 Lauren Humphreys Bonito Squadra Corse
32 Natasha Morrison Bonito Squadra Corse
33 Bethany Taylor Bonito Squadra Corse
34 Charlotte Broughton Corley Cycles | Drops RT
35 Tamiko Butler Corley Cycles | Drops RT
36 Amy Gornall Corley Cycles | Drops RT
37 Katy Simcock Corley Cycles | Drops RT
38 Abi Van Twisk Corley Cycles | Drops RT
39 Becky Womersley Corley Cycles | Drops RT
40 Fiona Guihen DID Electrical Racing Team
41 Sarah Piner DID Electrical Racing Team
42 Sophie Faulkner FusionRTGearclub/Bikescience
43 Natalie Grinczer FusionRTGearclub/Bikescience
44 Elizabeth Stedman FusionRTGearclub/Bikescience
45 Gillian Taylor FusionRTGearclub/Bikescience
46 Rebecca Williamson FusionRTGearclub/Bikescience
47 Megan Barker Great Britain Olympic Development Programme
48 Abigail Dentus Great Britain Olympic Development Programme
49 Eleanor Dickinson Great Britain Olympic Development Programme
50 Grace Garner Great Britain Olympic Development Programme
51 Elizabeth Holden Great Britain Olympic Development Programme
52 Abby Mae Parkinson Great Britain Olympic Development Programme
53 Karla Boddy IKON – Maxda
54 Julie Erskine IKON – Maxda
55 Louise Mahe IKON – Maxda
56 Laura Massey IKON – Maxda
57 Tracy Corbett Les Filles Racing Team
58 Jennifer George Les Filles Racing Team
59 Laura Greenhalgh Les Filles Racing Team
60 Louise Moriarty Les Filles Racing Team
61 Nicole Oh Les Filles Racing Team
62 Helen Ralston Les Filles Racing Team
63 Laura Cameron London Phoenix
64 Aoife Doherty London Phoenix
65 Bella Leach London Phoenix
66 Tamala McGee London Phoenix
67 Katie Archibald Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International
68 Clemence Copie Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International
69 Lauren Creamer Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International
70 Katie Curtis Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International
71 Bethany Hayward Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International
72 Gaby Shaw Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International
73 Gabriella Shaw Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International
74 Ellie Cadzow PMR@ToachimHouse
75 Louise Laker PMR@ToachimHouse
76 Vicki Strila PMR@ToachimHouse
77 Ruth Summerford PMR@ToachimHouse
78 Chloe Weller PMR@ToachimHouse
79 Keira Mcvitty Team Giordana Triton
80 Lauren O’brien Team Giordana Triton
81 Annasley Park Team Giordana Triton
82 Nicola Juniper Team Giordand Triton
83 Ellie Coster Team USN
84 Emily Kay Team USN
85 Manon Lloyd Team USN
86 Emily Nelson Team USN
87 Lydia Boylan Team WNT
88 Rebecca Carter Team WNT
89 Charline Joiner Team WNT
90 Brit Tate Team WNT
91 Jo Tindley Team WNT
92 Hannah Walker Team WNT
93 Laura Cheesman Velosure Starley Primal
94 Tanya Griffiths Velosure Starley Primal
95 Gaby Leveridge Velosure starley primal
96 Tamara Davenne Zappi’s Racing Team
97 Juliet Milward Zappi’s Racing Team
98 Merce Pacios Zappi’s Racing Team
99 Claire Richardson Zappi’s Racing Team
100 Charlotte Sampson Zappi’s Racing Team

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK