Result: Ixworth Village Cycle Races

Mathilde Pauls, Joseph Smith, Trevor Ormes and William Crabtree some of the winners at the Ixworth Village Cycle Races on May 2nd

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result: Ixworth Village Cycle Races


The Under 16s Podium. Photos taken by Fergus Muir at the Ixworth Village Races

Bury St Edmunds club West Suffolk Wheelers, who are celebrating their centenary this year, promoted a six race programme of round-the-houses races in Ixworth village centre. The Women’s race saw a strong Team Watto squad pitted against a number of individual riders and the field largely stayed together until the final lap, except for an unsuccessful solo lap by Cambridge-based Mathilde Pauls (Laka Pedal Mafia). However on the last lap Pauls again attacked and stretched a lead over Louise Wren Athlone CC) who took second spot ahead of no less than four riders in Watto colours.

Norwich rider Joseph Smith took a clear win in the Senior Men’s race at the Ixworth Village Races after his Tofauti Everyone Active team dominated the race with four members in the leading break of eight. Smith, the reigning National Junior Cyclo-Cross Champion, got away in mid-race and soloed to win by an eventual 44 seconds. Tofauti’s main opposition came from Stamford rider Jacob Bush, winner at Fakenham two weeks ago. However Bush was worn down by having to chase every Tofauti attack and eventually settled for fifth.

At the finish, the sprint for second went to another Norwich man, Callum Laborde while Mark Lightfoot completed an all-Tofauti podium while former Norfolk rider Philip Large, now with Wold Top RT, took fourth.

Women’s winner Pauls (in grey) early in the race

Jacob Bush leads the break.

A well-supported race for Fourth Category Men opened the programme of races in the picturesque Suffolk village. This went to William Crabtree, younger brother of the better-known Chris. On the last lap Crabtree opened a small gap on Orwell Velo clubmate Charlie Hunter Lain who is from a rowing background. Hunter Lain suffered a nightmare on the final corner into Ixworth High Street, but stayed upright and held off Alex Boys (Track Nation) to take second.

On the circuit at the same time as the women but under a strict “No Fraternising” rule, the race for Vets over 50 saw repeated attacks from St Neots rider Greg Simcock. Simcock, remembered for an epic battle with Matt Cook in the main race some years ago, was once again just outsprinted, this time by super-veteran Trevor Ormes (Rapha CC). Ormes got first into that vital last corner that is nearly always decisive on this tight street circuit.

In the Under 16s Lee Valley Youth CC rider William Gilbank won, two seconds up on Toby Bush (Beeston CC) while Millie Jenkins was top girl. Arthur Steer (CC Hackney) rode to a lone win in the Under 12s where Esmee Bone (Welwyn Whs) was best girl.

Photos taken by Fergus Muir at the Ixworth Village Races in Suffolk

Joseph Smith takes the top men’s race

1 Mathilde Pauls LAKA Pedal Mafia RT
2 Louise Wren Athlon CC
3 Maddie Heywood Team Watto-LDN
4 Polly Milsom Team Watto-LDN
5 Lucy Neatham Team Watto-LDN
6 Hannah Roberts Team Watto-LDN
7 Charlotte Chaloner Team Watto-LDN
8 Jennifer Andrews 1904 RT
9 Jessica Holloway Team Watto-LDN
10 Louise Davidson Team Watto-LDN
11 Rosina Digne-Malcolm Team Watto-LDN
12 Megan Free West Suffolk Wheelers
13 Leah Moorman Datalynx-Parenesis Cycling

1 Joseph Smith Tofauti Everyone Active
2 Callum Laborde Tofauti Everyone Active
3 Mark Lightfoot Tofauti Everyone Active
4 Philip Large Wold Top The Edge RT
5 Jacob Bush Fensham Howes – MAS Design
6 Nathan Hardy Tofauti Everyone Active
7 Craig Rogers Cambridge University CC
8 Harry Garfield Peterborough Cycling Club
9 Chris Crabtree Orwell Velo
10 Casper Brazier TRASH MILE
11 Peter Hargreaves GFTL
12 James Dent Team PB Performance
13 Oliver Wood TBW23 Stuart Hall Cycling
14 Benjamin Beynon ROTOR Race Team
15 Kieran Jarvis Brother UK-Orientation marketing
16 Lyle Simpson NLTCBMBC
17 Joseph Kaye West Suffolk Wheelers
18 Cameron Walker Cambridge University CC
19 Harvey Young Orwell Velo
20 Dan Galpin Bourne Whls CC
21 Alan Jay Brazier
22 Thomas Corbet Hart Performance Coaching
23 Joshua Meyland OCTAVE
24 Jack Ibbotson Doncaster Whls CC
25 Kristian Mitchell Great Blakenham CSC
26 Lee Hammond
27 Alex Galpin Bourne Whls CC
28 Gabriel Taylor DAP Cycling Club
29 Rowan Baker London Dynamo
30 Preslav Dimitrov INFLITE

4th Cats
1 William Crabtree Orwell Velo
2 Charlie Hunter Lain Orwell Velo
4 Andrew Hammond Newmarket Cycling &Triathlon Club
5 Will Barham Hart Performance Coaching
6 Daniel Hall Colchester Rovers CC
7 Josh Arksey Newmarket Cycling &Triathlon Club
8 William Burton Cambridge CC
9 David Hebblethwaite Orwell Velo
10 Scott Williams West Suffolk Wheelers
11 Peter Dyer Lee Valley Velo
12 Martin Brown West Suffolk Wheelers
13 James Moss Hart Performance Coaching
14 Jason Fowler XLR8 XC Team
15 Thomas Watts Walden Velo
16 Jamie Bretton Stonham Barns Park � SYRT
17 Mark Sinnett
18 Dan Murphy Espresso Library
19 Stephen Brook West Suffolk Wheelers
20 Jono Davis Espresso Library
21 Anthony Preece Mildenhall CC
22 Tom Moore Gt Yarmouth CC

Trevor Ormes wins the Men’s V50

1 Trevor Ormes Rapha Cycling Club
2 Greg Simcock CC Luton
3 Andrew Lowe Club Corley Cycles RC
4 Noah Faiers Cinnamon Cafe-Oriel Finance SDRT
5 Andy Bathe Cambridge CC
6 Martin Lawless Cycle Club Ashwell (CCA)
7 Mark Westrup
8 Dave Turton Cinnamon Cafe-Oriel Finance SDRT
9 Ken Roesner Bush Healthcare CRT
10 Ian Newby Diss & District CC
11 Tim Preece Ashfield RC
12 Ivan Carr Strada 2020
13 Mark McCormack West Suffolk Wheelers
14 Neil Bowman Ely & District CC
15 Adrian Hoyle Royal Air Force CA
16 Chris Cantwell West Suffolk Wheelers

Youth A
1 William Gilbank Lee Valley Youth Cycling Club
2 Toby Bush Beeston Cycling Club
3 Thomas Mead Lee Valley Youth Cycling Club
4 Harley Gregory West Suffolk Wheelers
5 Ethan Squires Beeston Cycling Club
6 Ethan Storti Welwyn Wheelers CC
7 Henry Hobbs Welwyn Wheelers CC
8 Thomas Lewis Ely & District CC
9 Sebastian Anderson Orwell Velo
10 William Horspool Wisbech Whls CC
11 Jack Sutton Stonham Barns Park � SYRT
12 Oskar Everett Orwell Velo
13 Benjamin Myers Colchester Rovers CC

1 Millie Jenkins Lee Valley Youth Cycling Club
2 Edith Smith Stonham Barns Park � SYRT

Spectators at the top corner

Youth B
1 Toby Tombs Lee Valley Youth Cycling Club
2 Elijah Storti Welwyn Wheelers CC
3 George Collins Colchester Rovers CC
4 Harry Gilbank Lee Valley Youth Cycling Club
5 Samuel Brook West Suffolk Wheelers
6 Lochlan Dyer Lee Valley Youth Cycling Club

1 Eloise Ward Lee Valley Youth Cycling Club
2 Abbey Thompson Stonham Barns Park � SYRT

Youth C
1 Arthur Steer Cycling Club Hackney
2 Aaron Pittson Hadleigh Cycling Club
3 Harvey Woodroffe Ely & District CC
4 Alex MacInnes Lee Valley Youth Cycling Club
5 Seth Bush
6 Ciaran Ho Hadleigh Cycling Club
7 Charlie Barrett Colchester Rovers CC
8 Esmee Bone Welwyn Wheelers CC
9 Lois Rogerson Lee Valley Youth Cycling Club
10 Lucas Bowman Ely & District CC


Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK