GB Team for 2022 Road Worlds

A stacked Great Britain line up for the road worlds in Wollongong which start in a weeks time in Australia

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

GB Team for 2022 Road Worlds

Elite Men
Current world omnium champion Ethan Hayter will look to add another rainbow jersey to his collection in Australia, contesting both the road race and time-trial. Hayter won the Tour of Poland last month before making his Grand Tour debut at the Vuelta a España, where he was forced to leave the race early due to Covid-19. He will be joined by teammates Ben Turner, Ben Swift, Ben Tulett and Luke Rowe.

A world star after his performances in the Tour de France and Vuelta, Fred Wright goes to the Worlds in fine form. Fred has had multiple Grand Tour stage podium finishes so far this year, while Jake Stewart, who came so close to a stage win in the Tour of Britain, and Connor Swift – complete the line-up.

Elite and Under-23 Women
Having enjoyed a recent foray on the track at the European Championships, Pfeiffer Georgi will be joined in the women’s squad by Commonwealth Games time-trial silver medallist Anna Henderson, as well as Anna Shackley and Lizzie Holden. Completing the line up will be Elynor Bäckstedt, who won consecutive time-trial bronze medals in this event in 2018 and 2019 as a junior, and Alice Towers, who makes her debut for the Great Britain Cycling Team after winning the road race in this year’s British National Road Championships in Castle Douglas.

Under-23 Men
After riding in this year’s Tour de l’Avenir, Sam Watson, Bob Donaldson and Leo Hayter have been selected for the under-23 men’s squad, with Hayter joining his brother in doubling up for the road race and time-trial. Also in the squad are Sean Flynn, who finished 10th in the Commonwealth Games road race, and Oliver Stockwell.

Junior Men
Last year’s time-trial silver medallist Josh Tarling will hope to go one step better this time around, and the new INEOS signing will ride in both the road race and time-trial. He’ll be joined by fellow Great Britain Cycling Team junior academy rider Jed Smithson, and British champion Zac Walker.

Junior Women
Zoe Bäckstedt will attempt to defend her junior road race title, having recently claimed another rainbow jersey by winning the junior Madison world title on the track in Tel-Aviv, alongside Grace Lister, who has also been selected. Izzy Sharp also makes the squad after winning elimination race bronze and individual pursuit silver in Tel-Aviv, while Awen Roberts completes the line up, after finishing second to Bäckstedt in this year’s junior national road race.

Bäckstedt and Sharp will also contest the time-trial – an event in which the former won silver last year in Flanders.

Great Britain Cycling Team for the UCI Road World Championships:

Elite Men
Ethan Hayter (Road race and time-trial)
Luke Rowe
Jake Stewart
Ben Swift
Connor Swift
Ben Tulett
Ben Turner
Fred Wright

Elite and Under-23 Women
Alice Towers (U23) (British Champion)
Elynor Backstedt (U23)
Pfeiffer Georgi (U23)
Anna Henderson
Elizabeth Holden
Anna Shackley (U23)

Under-23 Men
Bob Donaldson
Sean Flynn
Leo Hayter (Road race and time-trial)
Oliver Stockwell
Sam Watson (U23 British road champion)

Junior Men
Jed Smithson
Josh Tarling (Road race and time-trial)
Zac Walker )British RR Champion)

Junior Women
Zoe Backstedt (Road race and time-trial)
Grace Lister
Awen Roberts
Izzy Sharp (Road race and time-trial)


Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK