Result: Capernwray Road Races

Matthew Nowell and Elizabeth Banks winners at the Capernwray Road Races on Sunday in the North West

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result: Capernwray Road Races
(thanks Len & Deborah John (race organiser ))


Capernwray Women’s RR

This was the biggest women’s field that this race has seen for many years and possibly one of the strongest . Officials commented that the Women’s race was extremely well ridden and that they should be complimented .

This provided for a tightly contested race in which a group of around 30-40 women stayed together for the first 3 laps and then, after a series of attacks a reduced lead group of around 15 made it to the base of Sunnybank before eventual winner Lizzy Banks (Sunsport Velo) and Rachel Crighton (Team 22) , last year’s winner, launched an attack .

Banks sat on the wheel expertly before making the decisive move in the final 100m to claim victory. QoM was Rebecca Richardson (Hafren CC) who completed the podium placings , runner up being Rachel Crighton . Top Junior woman was Sophie Thackery (NCC Group Kuota-Torelli) who also placed in the top ten overall .
Capernwray Men’s RR
Matthew Garthwaite (Rhino Velo Race Team) and Patrick Clark (team B 38/Underpin Racing) attacked on the first lap and stayed away for 4 laps, cleaning up the KoM prizes before the race came back together for a sprint finish on the last climb of Sunnybank where Matthew Nowell (Bike Channel Canyon) was the clear winner. A special mention to Ben Barlow (Salt Ayre Cog Set) as the only Junior to place in the top ten.



National B
1 Matthew Nowell BIKE Channel Canyon
2 Matthew Garthwaite Rhino Velo Race Team
3 Andrew Nichols Team B38 / Underpin Racing
4 Archie Cross Team B38 / Underpin Racing
5 Alex Luhrs Brother NRG Driverplan
6 Adam Darbyshire VCUK VELOCHAMPION Racing Team
7 Dillon Byrne VCUK VELOCHAMPION Racing Team
8 Ruari Grant Pro Vision Cycle Clothing
9 Benjamin Barlow Salt Ayre Cog Set
10 Ryan Coulton Wheelbase Altura MGD
11 Jude Taylor Team B38 / Underpin Racing
12 Scott McCrossan East Kilbride Road Club
13 Kieran Savage Team B38 / Underpin Racing
14 Will King PH/MAS/PaulMilnes
15 Chris Fallon Kuota – Spinergy – GSG
16 Jake Cowen VCUK VELOCHAMPION Racing Team
17 Patrick Clark Team B38 / Underpin Racing
18 Lee Baldwin VCUK VELOCHAMPION Racing Team
19 Matt Hallam Synergy Cycles
20 Stuart Reid Wheelbase Altura MGD
21 Stephen Lewis Rock to Roll CC
22 Richard Butler Kendal Cycle Club
23 Thomas Brazier Team Elite
24 Jimmy Smith VCUK VELOCHAMPION Racing Team
25 Martin Woffindin Secret Traning
26 Thomas Hanlon Harry Middleton Cycling Club
27 David Scott Rhino Velo Race Team
28 George Boardman Maxxis 4 Racing Team
29 Ben Trotter Macclesfield Wheelers
30 Mathew Lythgoe Maxxis 4 Racing Team
31 Paul Lally Onimpex Bio Racer RT
32 Joseph Hanlon Harry Middleton Cycling Club
33 Paul Gibson Warrington RC
34 George Higgins Birkenhead North End CC
35 Luke Jackson Harry Middleton Cycling Club
… continued after advert


1 Elizabeth Banks SunSport Velo
2 Rachel Crighton Team 22
3 Rebecca Richardson Hafren CC
4 Steph Clayton Mammoth Lifestyle Racing Team
5 Holly Flannery Team Jadan-Weldtite
6 Josie Knight Team WNT
7 Julie Erskine Team OnForm
8 Sophie Thackray NCC Group-Kuota-Torelli
9 Rebecca Rimmington Team WNT
10 Alana Prior EDCO Continental
11 Tamsin Vicary
12 Stephanie Mottram NCC Group-Kuota-Torelli
13 Fiona Turnbull Speedflex Race Team
14 Gemma Sergent Team Onform
15 Lauren Humphreys Aprire Bicycles/HSS Hire
16 Crystal Lane-Wright Aprire Bicycles/HSS Hire
17 Charlotte Dalton Team Jadan-Weldtite
18 Amy Gornall
19 Jayne Dickens Vision Racing
20 Anna Weaver Team Vertex-Biemme
21 Louise Scupham Team Jadan-Weldtite
22 Madeleine Scott NCC Group-Kuota-Torelli
23 Jess Atkinson Cambridge University CC
24 Monica Dew Storey Racing
25 Lily Greenhalgh Team 22
26 Melissa Greaves All Terrain Cycles Ride In Peace
27 Elizabeth Burrows Team Jadan-Weldtite
28 Sarah Grant Vision Racing
29 Georgia Bullard Jaden Weldtite
30 Charlotte Gorman Team Lusso
31 Rosie Walsh SunSport Velo
32 Felicity Gledhill SunSport Velo
33 Julie Elder Aprire Bicycles/HSS Hire
34 Lindsay Atkinson-Wright Albarosa Cycling Club
35 Elizabeth Catlow Team 22
36 Jenny Holl Team Jadan-Weldtite
37 Rosa Martin Team 22
38 Jennifer Batey EDCO Continental
39 Olivia Fawcett EDCO Continental
40 Amy Jones Aprire Bicycles/HSS Hire
41 Clover Murray Team OnForm
42 Gabriella Homer Team 22
43 Rebecca Gregson The Racing Chance Foundation
44 Hannah Farran EDCO Continental
45 Charlotte Waddington The Racing Chance Foundation
46 Gabrielle Duckworth Team Vertex-Biemme
47 Sarah Gregson The Racing Chance Foundation



Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK