Report: New Forest Boxing Day 10

Riding his final race as a junior, Sam Wadsley (Poole Wheelers) impressively won the New Forest CC Boxing Day 10

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report: New Forest Boxing Day 10

By Eammon Deane

Riding his final race as a junior, Sam Wadsley (Poole Wheelers) impressively won the New Forest CC Boxing Day 10 mile time trial on the P311 south of Ringwood in Hampshire. On a bright, December morning 18 year old Wadsley produced a time most would be pleased to post on a balmy June evening, his 22:10, 17 seconds ahead of British Cycling Junior Academy rider, Charley Calvert (Bournemouth Arrow).

Wadsley won the CC Weymouth Easter 10 back in March and leaves the junior ranks with confidence high. Calvert was disappointed with his ride but has been training hard at the Newport velodrome ahead of a January track competition at Apeldoorrn in the Netherlands.

Neil Mackley (Fareham Wheelers) clocked 22:52 to take third place ahead of 2012 winner Anthony Green (New Forest CC) & rising local star Patryk Witkowski (Bournemouth Jubilee Wh). Pre-race favourite Xavier Disley (Aerocoach) had to settle for sixth place but had no complaints, training for the national track championships next year and running his Aerocoach coaching business, taking up his time and his endurance.

Lou Dutch (Synergie Coaching), 25:46, took the women’s race well clear of Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers pair, Lizzy Campbell,27:22 & Louise Cooper, 27:49.

In the battle of the road bikes, veteran Stu Bowers(Bournemouth Jubilee Wh) & Matt Downie (Eden Veranda) tied on 23:26 with Mitch Webber (PedalHeaven RT) just behind with 23:35, Webber finding time to wave at the camera.

The start list of 83 plus two tandems was the biggest field anyone could remember for this festive fixture, encouraging for the New Forest Cycling Club who have been running the event since the 1960’s.

Provisional Result
1 Samuel Wadsley (Poole Wh) 00:22:10
2 Charley Calvert BOURNEMOUTH ARROW CC 00:22:27
3 Neil Mackley FAREHAM WH 00:22:52
4 Antony Green NEW FOREST CC 00:22:54
5 Patryk Witkowski BOURNEMOUTH JUBILEE WH 00:22:57
6 B Xavier Disley AEROCOACH 00:23:04
7 Brendan Reese BOURNEMOUTH ARROW CC 00:23:10
8 James Horton POOLE WH 00:23:11
9 Steven Cottington BATH CC 00:23:14
10 Andrew Cooper BOURNEMOUTH JUBILEE WH 00:23:20
11 Tom Stocker BOURNEMOUTH JUBILEE WH 00:23:23
12 Stuart Bowers BOURNEMOUTH JUBILEE WH 00:23:26
13 Matthew Downie EDEN VERANDA 00:23:26
14 Mitchell Webber PEDALHEAVEN RT 00:23:35
15 Craig Haslam TRI UK 00:23:50
16 Stuart Martingale SOTONIA CC 00:23:56
17 Nicholas Buck NEW FOREST CC 00:24:01
18 Steve Groome BOURNEMOUTH JUBILEE WH 00:24:04
19 Perry Lee SOUTHDOWN VELO 00:24:16
20 Christopher Day POOLE WH 00:24:42
21 Max Moyles NEW FOREST CC 00:24:52
22 Thomas Day POOLE WH 00:24:56
23 Lyndon Thompson NEW FOREST CC 00:25:02
24 Julian Lockwood PRIMERATEAMJOBS 00:25:07
25 stuart peckham NEW FOREST CC 00:25:15
26 Iain Palmer TWICKENHAM CC 00:25:21
27 Graham Crockford DULWICH PARAGON 00:25:21
28 Rob Jones ZOOM TRI 00:25:34
29 Chris Wilson TORNADO RCC 00:25:38
30 Lou Dutch SYNERGIE COACHING 00:25:46
31 Philip Godfrey SOTONIA CC 00:25:53
32 Richard Blake ANTELOPE CC 00:25:57
33 Pete Wilson BOURNEMOUTH ARROW 00:26:05
34 Kevin Harris BOURNEMOUTH JUBILEE WH 00:26:08
35 Jamie Whitcher POOLE WH 00:26:16
36 Max Webber ABBOTTS ANN CYCLES 00:26:21
37 Martin Ross BOURNEMOUTH JUBILEE WH 00:26:25
38 Richard Parker NEW FOREST CC 00:26:30
39 Pete Coombs NEW FOREST CC 00:26:35
40 Tom Butler NEW FOREST CC 00:26:36
41 Adrian Watkins TORNADO RC 00:26:39
42 Matt Blythe BOURNEMOUTH ARROW CC 00:26:50
43 Luke Monahan UK BIKING 00:26:55
44 David James-Cheesman SOUTHDOWN VELO 00:27:19
45 Lizzy Campbell BOURNEMOUTH JUBILEE WH 00:27:22
46 Peter Walker RNRMCA 00:27:30
47 Louisa Cooper BOURNEMOUTH JUBILEE WH 00:27:49
48 Lucy Gadd POOLE WH 00:27:59
49 Julian Sheppard NEW FOREST CC 00:28:01
50 Neil Dyble BOURNEMOUTH ARROW CC 00:28:06
51 Dean Jewer BOURNEMOUTH JUBILEE WH 00:28:06
52 Jeremy Gill POOLE WH 00:28:15
53 Nicholas Cooper ANDOVER WH 00:28:33
54 Dan Byrne POOLE WH 00:28:42
55 Harry O’Donoghue POOLE WH 00:28:53
56 Emma Needham CC WEYMOUTH 00:29:01
57 Kate Bowers BOURNEMOUTH JUBILEE WH 00:29:01
58 Martin Howes TORNADO RCC 00:29:37
59 Fiona Scotter ARMY CYCLING UNION 00:29:46
60 Michael Round BOURNEMOUTH JUBILEE WH 00:30:17
61 Mat Jessop TORNADO RCC 00:30:22
62 Martin Balk 3C CYCLEXPERIENCE 00:31:39
63 Catherine Pascoe NEW FOREST CC 00:33:17
64 Dave Cooper ANDOVER WH 00:34:00
65 Nicholas Brewster SOLENT PIRATES 00:34:20
66 Ben Gill POOLE WH 00:35:21

1 NicholasO’Hara 00:24:33 3C CYCLEXPERIENCE
Sean Williams 00:24:33YSPORTSSP

… continued after advert





Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK